Davies heads to Mizuno final round with share of lead

By Associated PressNovember 8, 2014, 7:19 am

SHIMA, Japan - Laura Davies of Britain shot a 5-under 67 to share the Mizuno Classic lead with Ai Suzuki of Japan and Ilhee Lee of South Korea after Saturday's second round.

The 51-year-old Davies offset two bogeys with seven birdies at the Kintetsu Kashikojima course for a 9-under 135 total. The English player won the most recent of her 20 LPGA Tour titles in 2001.

''I've been playing well but my results have been horrendous,'' Davies said. ''If you don't hole putts, you can't compete out here anymore. It's not like it's a shock to me but it's a nice surprise.''

Davies has a chance to become the oldest winner in LPGA history at the age of 51 if she can close out the tournament for the 21st LPGA victory of her career.

''Obviously, it's a bad thing, really, because it means I'm really old,'' Davies said of the possibility of being the oldest winner. ''But it would be a nice thing too because it would mean I have a good record.''

Suzuki finished with four straight birdies to record the day's lowest score of 64 while Lee shot a bogey-free 66.

Suzuki became the youngest winner of the Japan LPGA Championship in September at age 20 and is competing in her first LPGA event.

''I won't be thinking about the win,'' Suzuki said. ''l'll just try my best and see how I can do in an LPGA tournament.''

Japan's Kotono Kozuma fired a 67 and was one stroke back with South Koreans Mi Hyang Lee (67) and Chella Choi (68).

Second-ranked Stacy Lewis, the 2012 winner, shot 72 and was tied for 27th while defending champion Teresa Lu of Taiwan (67) was five strokes back.

Lee Na Ri of South Korea had eight birdies against a lone bogey for a 65 and is two strokes back. Karrie Webb of Australia shot a 68 and is tied for eighth place at 6-under with Jessica Korda (67) of the United States and Japan's Ayako Uehara (68).

Overnight leader Morgan Pressel of the United States had an even-par 72 to fall into a tie for 11th place.

Lexi 'applaud's USGA, R&A for rules change

By Randall MellDecember 11, 2017, 5:15 pm

Lexi Thompson’s pain may prove to be the rest of golf’s gain.

David Rickman, the R&A’s executive director of governance, acknowledged on Golf Channel’s "Morning Drive" Monday that the new protocols that will eliminate the use of TV viewer call-ins and emails to apply penalties was hastened by the controversy following Thompson’s four-shot penalty at the ANA Inspiration in early April. The new protocols also set up rules officials to monitor TV broadcasts beginning next year.

“Clearly, that case has been something of a focus point for us,” Rickman said.

Thompson reacted to the new protocols in an Instagram post.

“I applaud the USGA and the R&A for their willingness to revise the Rules of Golf to address certain unfortunate situations that have arisen several times in the game of golf,” Thompson wrote. “In my case, I am thankful no one else will have to deal with an outcome such as mine in the future.”

Thompson was penalized two shots for improperly returning her ball to its mark on a green during Saturday’s round after a viewer emailed LPGA officials during Sunday’s broadcast. She was penalized two more shots for signing an incorrect scorecard for her Saturday round. Thompson ultimately lost in a playoff to So Yeon Ryu.

The new protocols will also eliminate the additional two-shot penalty a player receives for failing to include a penalty when a player was unaware of the penalty.

Shortly after the ANA Inspiration, the USGA and R&A led the formation of a video review working group, which included the PGA Tour, LPGA, European Tour, Ladies European Tour and PGA of America.

Also, just three weeks after Thompson was hit with the four-shot penalty, the USGA and R&A released a new Rules of Golf decision decision (34-3/10) limiting video evidence in two ways:

1. If an infraction can’t be seen with the naked eye, there’s no penalty, even if video shows otherwise.

2. If a tournament committee determines that a player does “all that can be reasonably expected to make an accurate estimation or measurement” in determining a line or position to play from or to spot a ball, then there will be no penalty even if video replay later shows that to be wrong.

While the USGA and R&A said the new decision wasn’t based on Thompson’s ANA incident, LPGA players immediately began calling it the “Lexi Rule.”

Getty Images

PGA Tour, LPGA react to video review rules changes

By Golf Channel DigitalDecember 11, 2017, 1:32 pm

The USGA and R&A announced on Monday updates to the Rules of Golf, including no longer accepting call-ins relating to violations. The PGA Tour and LPGA, which were both part of a working group of entities who voted on the changes, issued the following statements:

PGA Tour:

The PGA Tour has worked closely with the USGA and R&A on this issue in recent years, and today's announcement is another positive step to ensure the Rules of Golf align with how the game is presented and viewed globally. The PGA Tour will adopt the new Local Rule beginning January 1, 2018 and evolve our protocols for reviewing video evidence as outlined.

LPGA:

We are encouraged by the willingness of the governing bodies to fully vet the issues and implement real change at a pace much quicker than the sport has seen previously. These new adaptations, coupled with changes announced earlier this year, are true and meaningful advances for the game. The LPGA plans to adopt fully the protocols and new Local Rule as outlined.

Getty Images

Sharma closes on Monday, wins Joburg Open

By Associated PressDecember 11, 2017, 12:43 pm

JOHANNESBURG – Shubhankar Sharma won his first European Tour title by a shooting 3-under 69 Monday in the final round of the weather-delayed Joburg Open.

The 21-year-old Indian resumed his round on the eighth green after play was halted early Sunday afternoon because of storms. He parred that hole, birdied No. 9 and made par on every hole on the back nine.


Full-field scores from the Joburg Open


Sharma finished at 23-under 264, three strokes ahead of the pack, and qualified for next year's British Open, too.

''I actually wasn't going to come here about a week ago ... so I'm really happy that I came,'' said Sharma, who shot 61 in the second round. ''I don't think I'm ever going forget my first time in South Africa.''

Erik van Rooyen (66) was second, three strokes ahead of Shaun Norris (65) and Tapio Pulkkanen (68).

Getty Images

Newsmakers of the Year: Top 10 in 2017

By Golf Channel DigitalDecember 11, 2017, 12:30 pm