Kim has History Momentum at Kingsmill

By Associated PressMay 9, 2007, 4:00 pm
2007 Michelob Ultra Open at KingsmillWILLIAMSBURG, Va. -- Mi Hyun Kim hopes the momentum she's bringing to Kingsmill's River Course will help her add to a pretty special history there, too.
Kim enters the fifth annual Michelob Ultra Open as one of only two players to finish in the top 10 in each of the first four events. She also is coming off a playoff victory against Hall of Famer Juli Inkster at the SemGroup Championship in Oklahoma.
'I like this course because a lot of the holes are tricky and the greens are fast,' Kim said of the par-71, 6,306-yard layout. 'When I come here, I feel more comfortable and confident when I play. Maybe that's why I play good.'
Right now, she's not lacking in confidence. Asked this week if she thinks there's a player of the future who stands out among the other rising professionals from South Korea, she answered: 'Every morning, I look at the mirror and I tell me, you're going to be good. I never think about who's going to be better or good.'
Kim's victory last weekend and the $210,000 paycheck catapulted her from 28th to sixth place on the money list. But the star-filled field she'll face starting Thursday in Williamsburg includes defending champion and Hall of Famer Karrie Webb, former winners Cristie Kerr (2005), Se Ri Pak (2004) and Grace Park (2003), and 29 of the 30 top money winners on tour this year. The purse -- $2.2 million -- is the fifth highest.
The winner receives $330,000 and a spot in the LPGA playoffs.
Webb won last year by seven strokes, finishing 14 under to set tournament records for score and victory margin. She was the first golfer to lead wire-to-wire in the tournament's short history. Ranked third in the world, she is winless in five U.S. starts this season after opening the year a pair of victories in her native Australia.
A victory this weekend would put Webb, who is second on the LPGA career money list, over $13 million since joining the tour in 1996. Webb's 2006 Michelob Ultra victory was one of her five victories in 2006, and helped her join Annika Sorenstam and Lorena Ochoa as the only LPGA Tour players to surpass $2 million in single-season earnings.
Related Links:
  • Full Coverage - Michelob Ultra Open at Kingsmill
  • Lexi 'applaud's USGA, R&A for rules change

    By Randall MellDecember 11, 2017, 5:15 pm

    Lexi Thompson’s pain may prove to be the rest of golf’s gain.

    David Rickman, the R&A’s executive director of governance, acknowledged on Golf Channel’s "Morning Drive" Monday that the new protocols that will eliminate the use of TV viewer call-ins and emails to apply penalties was hastened by the controversy following Thompson’s four-shot penalty at the ANA Inspiration in early April. The new protocols also set up rules officials to monitor TV broadcasts beginning next year.

    “Clearly, that case has been something of a focus point for us,” Rickman said.

    Thompson reacted to the new protocols in an Instagram post.

    “I applaud the USGA and the R&A for their willingness to revise the Rules of Golf to address certain unfortunate situations that have arisen several times in the game of golf,” Thompson wrote. “In my case, I am thankful no one else will have to deal with an outcome such as mine in the future.”

    Thompson was penalized two shots for improperly returning her ball to its mark on a green during Saturday’s round after a viewer emailed LPGA officials during Sunday’s broadcast. She was penalized two more shots for signing an incorrect scorecard for her Saturday round. Thompson ultimately lost in a playoff to So Yeon Ryu.

    The new protocols will also eliminate the additional two-shot penalty a player receives for failing to include a penalty when a player was unaware of the penalty.

    Shortly after the ANA Inspiration, the USGA and R&A led the formation of a video review working group, which included the PGA Tour, LPGA, European Tour, Ladies European Tour and PGA of America.

    Also, just three weeks after Thompson was hit with the four-shot penalty, the USGA and R&A released a new Rules of Golf decision decision (34-3/10) limiting video evidence in two ways:

    1. If an infraction can’t be seen with the naked eye, there’s no penalty, even if video shows otherwise.

    2. If a tournament committee determines that a player does “all that can be reasonably expected to make an accurate estimation or measurement” in determining a line or position to play from or to spot a ball, then there will be no penalty even if video replay later shows that to be wrong.

    While the USGA and R&A said the new decision wasn’t based on Thompson’s ANA incident, LPGA players immediately began calling it the “Lexi Rule.”

    Getty Images

    PGA Tour, LPGA react to video review rules changes

    By Golf Channel DigitalDecember 11, 2017, 1:32 pm

    The USGA and R&A announced on Monday updates to the Rules of Golf, including no longer accepting call-ins relating to violations. The PGA Tour and LPGA, which were both part of a working group of entities who voted on the changes, issued the following statements:

    PGA Tour:

    The PGA Tour has worked closely with the USGA and R&A on this issue in recent years, and today's announcement is another positive step to ensure the Rules of Golf align with how the game is presented and viewed globally. The PGA Tour will adopt the new Local Rule beginning January 1, 2018 and evolve our protocols for reviewing video evidence as outlined.


    We are encouraged by the willingness of the governing bodies to fully vet the issues and implement real change at a pace much quicker than the sport has seen previously. These new adaptations, coupled with changes announced earlier this year, are true and meaningful advances for the game. The LPGA plans to adopt fully the protocols and new Local Rule as outlined.

    Getty Images

    Sharma closes on Monday, wins Joburg Open

    By Associated PressDecember 11, 2017, 12:43 pm

    JOHANNESBURG – Shubhankar Sharma won his first European Tour title by a shooting 3-under 69 Monday in the final round of the weather-delayed Joburg Open.

    The 21-year-old Indian resumed his round on the eighth green after play was halted early Sunday afternoon because of storms. He parred that hole, birdied No. 9 and made par on every hole on the back nine.

    Full-field scores from the Joburg Open

    Sharma finished at 23-under 264, three strokes ahead of the pack, and qualified for next year's British Open, too.

    ''I actually wasn't going to come here about a week ago ... so I'm really happy that I came,'' said Sharma, who shot 61 in the second round. ''I don't think I'm ever going forget my first time in South Africa.''

    Erik van Rooyen (66) was second, three strokes ahead of Shaun Norris (65) and Tapio Pulkkanen (68).

    Getty Images

    Newsmakers of the Year: Top 10 in 2017

    By Golf Channel DigitalDecember 11, 2017, 12:30 pm