Lewis four back of Miyazato after penalty

By Associated PressMarch 16, 2013, 11:49 pm

PHOENIX – Ai Miyazato regained control in the LPGA Founders Cup on Saturday, ending up with a bigger cushion than she expected when Stacy Lewis was penalized two strokes after the round.

Making three birdies in a four-hole stretch on the back nine and saving par with a 12-foot putt on the finishing hole, Miyazato shot her second straight 5-under 67 after opening with a tournament-record 64. At 19-under 197, the diminutive Japanese star had a four-stroke lead over Stacy Lewis and Jee Young Lee.

''It was a pretty solid round,'' said Miyazato, seeking her 10th LPGA victory. ''I didn't hit any bad shots and I had a few chances, a few birdie chances out there, but I couldn't make it. But still toward the end I started to feel more comfortable with my putting.''


Vote for the Kia Classic featured group


Lewis was penalized when it was ruled that caddie Travis Wilson tested the sand before Lewis played out of a bunker on the par-4 16th. That turned a 66 into a 68 and doubled her deficit.

''I didn't see Travis do anything when we were playing. I wasn't looking at his feet, obviously,'' Lewis said. ''So, we looked at the video and you have to slow it down, zoom in on his foot. He walks into the bunker, he kind of pushes, he kind of bounces his knees a little bit and his foot turns.

''And that was kind of the big indicators that his foot turned and you could kind of hear the sand crunch a little bit. So, that's deemed to be testing the sand.''

The penalty made the third-ranked Texan's bid to take over the top spot in the world from Yani Tseng much more difficult Sunday. Coming off a victory two weeks ago in Singapore, Lewis would jump to No. 1 with a victory, as long as Tseng – tied for 63rd at 2 under after a 72 – finishes third or worse.

''More than anything, I just feel bad for him because he feels awful,'' Lewis said. ''But he's the best caddie out here, so we'll be fine. We still have a chance to win tomorrow, so we'll be OK.

''He's very upset about it. I told him that 'The good part is that we got it before the cards were turned in, so I can still play tomorrow and we have a chance to win.' That's our goal every week is to have a chance to win on Sunday. So, I mean, I know he's really upset right now, but that's the first penalty we've ever had like that in 4 1/2 years, so everybody makes mistakes and we'll move on from it and we'll be fine.''

Lee, the second-round leader, had a 72 in cooler conditions on the cactus-lined course. After two days in the low 90s, it only reached the mid-80s on Saturday at Desert Ridge's Wildfire layout.

Miyazato was as graceful and efficient as ever, making it impossible to tell that she's returning from a whiplash injury sustained three weeks ago in a five-vehicle crash in Thailand. She hit the first 17 greens in regulation before stumbling with a shot into a bunker on the par-4 18th.

''Because I'm focusing, taking one shot at a time, I think that's why I've been playing really solid,'' Miyazato said. ''And my irons are pretty good, especially my irons distance is really good so far, so hopefully I can keep doing that tomorrow.''

On the 18th, her sand shot was a bit strong, leaving a 12-foot par putt. When the putt tumbled into the cup, she smiled and gave a restrained fist pump.

''The last putt was really clutch,'' Miyazato said. ''That's going to be good momentum to tomorrow.''

Thompson wins Race, loses tournament after short miss

By Will GrayNovember 19, 2017, 8:52 pm

The drama went down to the very last hole in the LPGA's final event of 2017. Here's how things ended up at the CME Group Tour Championship, where a surprising miss from Lexi Thompson opened the door for Ariya Jutanugarn to win in dramatic fashion:

Leaderboard: Ariya Jutanugarn (-15), Lexi Thompson (-14), Jessica Korda (-14), Pernilla Lindberg (-13), Eun-Hee Ji (-13)

What it means: There were scenarios aplenty entering the final round, with nearly every season-long accolade still hanging in the balance. Thompson appeared set to take them all as she sized up a 2-foot par putt on the final hole - a stroke that looked like it would take her to world No. 1 for the first time. Instead, the putt barely touched the hole and allowed Jutanugarn to rally to victory with birdies on the closing two holes. Thompson still took home $1 million for winning the season-long Race to the CME Globe, as it was a reverse scenario from last year when Jutanugarn won the $1 million but not the final tournament.

Round of the day: Sei Young Kim made the day's biggest charge, turning in a 6-under 66 to close the week in a share of 11th at 10 under. Kim made eight birdies during the final round, including five over her first eight holes en route to her lowest round of the week while erasing a third-round 75.

Best of the rest: Jutanugarn seemed like an afterthought as the tournament was winding down, but she kept her hopes alive with an 18-foot birdie on No. 17 and then capitalized on Thompson's mistake with a clutch birdie on the difficult final hole. It capped off a final-round 67 for the Thai who now ends what has been a tumultuous season with a smile on her face.

Biggest disappointment: Thompson faced heartbreak after the penalty-shrouded ANA Inspiration, and she again must handle a setback after essentially missing a tap-in with everything on the line. Thompson can enjoy a $1 million consolation prize along with the Vare Trophy, but a tournament win would have clinched Player of the Year honors as well as her first-ever trip to world No. 1. Instead, she now has the entire off-season to think about how things went awry from close range.

Shot of the day: There were only three birdies on No. 18 during the final round before Jutanugarn laced one down the fairway and hit a deft approach to 15 feet. The subsequent putt found the target and gave her win No. 7 on her young LPGA career.

Watch: Fleetwood gets emotional with family after Race to Dubai win

By Golf Channel DigitalNovember 19, 2017, 5:30 pm

Tommy Fleetwood took home the season-long Race to Dubai title on Sunday after a T-21 finish at the DP World Tour Championship.

He was, understandably, emotional after learning his fate while sitting with his wife and baby following a career year in which he won the HSBC Abu Dhabi Championship and the French Open and finished fourth at the U.S. Open.

Luckily for us, cameras were rolling:

Matsuyama after Koepka rout: 'Huge gap between us'

By Will GrayNovember 19, 2017, 4:22 pm

Hideki Matsuyama offered a blunt assessment after finishing 10 shots behind Brooks Koepka at the Japan Tour's Dunlop Phoenix event.

Koepka waxed the field en route to successfully defending his title in Japan, shooting a 20-under par total that left him nine shots clear of a runner-up group that included PGA Tour Rookie of the Year Xander Schauffele. Koepka's score was one shot off the tournament record, and his margin for victory eclipsed Tiger Woods' eight-shot romp in 2004.

Matsuyama appeared set to make a final-round charge after a birdie on No. 2 was followed by an ace on the par-3 third hole. But he played the next eight holes in 3 over and eventually finished alone in fifth place following a 2-under 69. Afterwards, he stacked his game up against that of Koepka in a telling comment to the Japan Times.

"I feel there's a huge gap between us," Matsuyama said.

The Japanese phenom entered the week ranked No. 4 in the world, though he will be passed in the next rankings by Jon Rahm following the Spaniard's win in Dubai. Matsuyama won twice this year on the PGA Tour, including the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational, but he has largely struggled since missing out on a maiden major title at the PGA Championship, where he tied for fifth.

Matsuyama was a runner-up to Koepka at the U.S. Open earlier this summer, and the 25-year-old seems headed back to the drawing board before defending his title at the Hero World Challenge in two weeks.

"I don't know whether it's a lack of practice or whether I lack the strength to keep playing well," Matsuyama said. "It seems there are many issues to address."

McCormick to caddie for Spieth at Aussie Open

By Will GrayNovember 19, 2017, 2:21 pm

When Jordan Spieth returns next week to defend his title at the Australian Open, he will do so without his regular caddie on the bag.

Spieth and Michael Greller have combined to win 14 tournaments and three majors, including three events in 2017. But Greller's wife, Ellie, gave birth to the couple's first child on Oct. 13, and according to a report from the Australian Herald Sun he will not make the intercontinental trip to Sydney, where Spieth will look to win for the third time in the last four years.

Instead, Spieth will have longtime swing coach and native Aussie Cameron McCormick on the bag at The Australian Golf Club. McCormick, who won PGA Teacher of the Year in 2015, is originally from Melbourne but now lives in Texas and has taught Spieth since he was a rising star among the junior golf ranks in Dallas.

While Greller has missed rounds before, this will be the first time as a pro that Spieth has used a different caddie for an entire event. Greller was sidelined with an injury last year in Singapore when Spieth's agent, Jay Danzi, took the bag, and trainer Damon Goddard has subbed in twice when Greller was sick, including this year at the Dean & DeLuca Invitational.

Spieth's torrid 2015 season traced back to his win at The Australian in 2014, and he returned to Oz last year where he won a playoff at Royal Sydney over Cameron Smith and Ashley Hall.