Notes Tough Turnaround Wie Earns Exemption

By Associated PressJuly 2, 2006, 4:00 pm
2006 U.S. Womens OpenNEWPORT, R.I. -- Golfers usually have a chance to sleep on it after a bad round. On Sunday, they barely had time for a sandwich.
 
Because of fog that knocked out a whole round on Thursday, the U.S. Women's Open wrapped things up with a 36-hole finish. That forced players to make a quick turnaround after their first 18 in the morning, with about a half hour to eat, change and practice before they had to head back on the course.
 
And all that was at stake was the third major title of the year.
 
Golfers finished teeing off for the third round at 8:20 a.m. and took almost five hours to finish the first 18 of the day. That had the third-to-last threesome of Juli Inkster, Paula Creamer and Se Ri Pak tapping in 31 minutes before their afternoon tee time of 1:43.
 
How did they spend the time? Like this:
 
1:12 p.m. -- Inkster makes a six-foot putt for bogey on No. 18 to drop a stroke behind the leaders. The players head for the scorer's room to sign their third-round scorecards.
 
1:16 -- Creamer heads into the clubhouse. Pak's caddie leaves her bag with friends to 'grab a quick bite.'
 
1:19 -- Pak comes out of the scorer's room.
 
1:26 -- Creamer's caddie drops her bag at the putting green.
 
1:30 -- Creamer comes out of the clubhouse in clean clothes, a pink top and skirt, carrying a plate of food and three sleeves of balls. Someone tries to chat her up but she says, 'Sorry, I tee off in like 10 minutes.'
 
1:32 -- Pak is eating and running, exiting the clubhouse while still chewing her food.
 
1:33 -- On the practice green, Pak has time for only seven putts.
 
1:36 -- Pak heads to the first tee.
 
1:37 -- Creamer's caddie checks his watch. The golfer gets a drink.
 
1:38 -- Inkster heads to the tee. Creamer follows; as she walks through the crowd, a woman who saw her in the morning says, 'I thought she was wearing brown and pink?'
 
1:41 -- Inkster's caddie shakes hands with Pak's, laughing; they had already been together for most of the previous 5 1/2 hours.
 
1:42 -- Inkster is announced on the tee.
 
1:43 -- She tees off. Pak and Creamer follow a minute later.
 
Y'ALL COME BACK
At least there won't be a controversy about giving Michelle Wie an exemption next year.
 
With her tie for third place, Wie earned an automatic exemption into the 2007 tournament at Pine Needles. that relieves the USGA of any worries that the phenom from Hawaii, who will be 17 next year, won't be eligible for golf's showcase women's event.
 
Wie had won enough money on the LPGA Tour to qualify for Newport this year, but she's not old enough to be an official LPGA member. So the USGA granted her one of two exemptions, a move that allowed her to skip qualifying but raised eyebrows and charges of favoritism.
 
Jane Park and Amanda Blumenherst, who tied for low amateur at 10th place, also punched a ticket for next year.
 
'That's something that I don't have to worry about, so that's great,' said Park, who shot 76 to finish at 9-over. 'Having an exemption into this tournament is an honor, and it will always be one.'
 
TWO-CHIP JANG
The 18th hole in the third round was more damaging than Jeong Jang realized.
 
She was two shots out of the lead when she drove into thick rough in front of a bunker. She blasted away and the ball took a quick turn to the right. From there, Jang hit through the green and wound up with a double bogey.
 
But television replays indicated that Jang hit the ball twice when trying to hack out of the weeds. The USGA talked to her about it in the scoring tent and looked at replays, but the Women's British Open champion didn't think she hit the ball twice, was told to sign for her 74 and get ready for the final round.
 
The switchboard continued to light up with callers, however, and the USGA went to a plasma screen and asked NBC Sports to run the tape in slow motion. There was conclusive evidence the wedge nicked the ball as she finished her swing.
 
One stroke was added to her score because of the penalty under Rule 14-4. Jang was not disqualified, however, because the USGA cleared her of the violation at the time she signed the card. There is a decision in the Rules of Golf (34-3/7) that allows the penalty to take effect upon more evidence.
 
Jang was informed as she waited on the fifth tee and was relieved to hear she would not be disqualified.
 
'I made that clear very quickly,' said Mike Davis, senior director of rules and competition.
 
TAKING IT EASY
USGA officials never did use the back tee on the par-3 13th at 211 yards -- not that they didn't think about it.
 
Rules director Mike Davis, who sets up the course, considered using the back tee for the third round Sunday morning when the wind might not be as strong. But it was plenty blustery at dawn.
 
'We have one woman on the committee who wanted it all the way back,' Davis said.
 
He drove halfway toward the green when he realized that 211 yards with wind hurtling from the left would be too much to ask.
 
It turned out to be a good move.
 
Paula Creamer, who has above average length on the LPGA Tour, hit a utility club to the green in the third round. Davis said some women wound up hitting 3-wood on the 181-yard hole.
 
ON THE BEACH
The 13th hole hugs the Atlantic Ocean, but unlike seaside courses such as Pebble Beach there is a road between the Newport Country Club and the water.
 
A chain-link fence separates the course from the road, providing a pretty good view for golf fans too cheap to pay the $40 admission. Some cars slowed down to catch part of the action as they drove by; other fans made a day if it, camping out with binoculars.
 
SKIP THE BIRDIES
Birdies are always scarce at a U.S. Open, but Gloria Park and Sophie Gustafson managed to card eagles on Sunday.
 
Gustafson made a 2 on the 10th hole in the third round. Park, who didn't make a single birdie in the second round, had a 3 on No. 1 Sunday afternoon for an eagle.
 
Becky Iverson didn't make the cut despite an eagle on the ninth hole in the second round.
 
DIVOTS
Meg Mallon, who was 12 over and didn't make the cut, went under the ropes to walk with fellow two-time winner Juli Inkster in the afternoon. ... Sophie Gustafson wore a Red Sox cap for the final round. ... Thunderstorms forecast for late afternoon -- there was even a severe thunderstorm warning issued -- held off long enough for the round to finish. Any delay could have forced the final round into Monday.
 
Related Links:
  • Leaderboard - U.S. Women's Open
  • Full Coverage - U.S. Women's Open
  • Thompson wins Race, loses tournament after short miss

    By Will GrayNovember 19, 2017, 8:52 pm

    The drama went down to the very last hole in the LPGA's final event of 2017. Here's how things ended up at the CME Group Tour Championship, where a surprising miss from Lexi Thompson opened the door for Ariya Jutanugarn to win in dramatic fashion:

    Leaderboard: Ariya Jutanugarn (-15), Lexi Thompson (-14), Jessica Korda (-14), Pernilla Lindberg (-13), Eun-Hee Ji (-13)

    What it means: There were scenarios aplenty entering the final round, with nearly every season-long accolade still hanging in the balance. Thompson appeared set to take them all as she sized up a 2-foot par putt on the final hole - a stroke that looked like it would take her to world No. 1 for the first time. Instead, the putt barely touched the hole and allowed Jutanugarn to rally to victory with birdies on the closing two holes. Thompson still took home $1 million for winning the season-long Race to the CME Globe, as it was a reverse scenario from last year when Jutanugarn won the $1 million but not the final tournament.

    Round of the day: Sei Young Kim made the day's biggest charge, turning in a 6-under 66 to close the week in a share of 11th at 10 under. Kim made eight birdies during the final round, including five over her first eight holes en route to her lowest round of the week while erasing a third-round 75.

    Best of the rest: Jutanugarn seemed like an afterthought as the tournament was winding down, but she kept her hopes alive with an 18-foot birdie on No. 17 and then capitalized on Thompson's mistake with a clutch birdie on the difficult final hole. It capped off a final-round 67 for the Thai who now ends what has been a tumultuous season with a smile on her face.

    Biggest disappointment: Thompson faced heartbreak after the penalty-shrouded ANA Inspiration, and she again must handle a setback after essentially missing a tap-in with everything on the line. Thompson can enjoy a $1 million consolation prize along with the Vare Trophy, but a tournament win would have clinched Player of the Year honors as well as her first-ever trip to world No. 1. Instead, she now has the entire off-season to think about how things went awry from close range.

    Shot of the day: There were only three birdies on No. 18 during the final round before Jutanugarn laced one down the fairway and hit a deft approach to 15 feet. The subsequent putt found the target and gave her win No. 7 on her young LPGA career.

    Watch: Fleetwood gets emotional with family after Race to Dubai win

    By Golf Channel DigitalNovember 19, 2017, 5:30 pm

    Tommy Fleetwood took home the season-long Race to Dubai title on Sunday after a T-21 finish at the DP World Tour Championship.

    He was, understandably, emotional after learning his fate while sitting with his wife and baby following a career year in which he won the HSBC Abu Dhabi Championship and the French Open and finished fourth at the U.S. Open.

    Luckily for us, cameras were rolling:

    Matsuyama after Koepka rout: 'Huge gap between us'

    By Will GrayNovember 19, 2017, 4:22 pm

    Hideki Matsuyama offered a blunt assessment after finishing 10 shots behind Brooks Koepka at the Japan Tour's Dunlop Phoenix event.

    Koepka waxed the field en route to successfully defending his title in Japan, shooting a 20-under par total that left him nine shots clear of a runner-up group that included PGA Tour Rookie of the Year Xander Schauffele. Koepka's score was one shot off the tournament record, and his margin for victory eclipsed Tiger Woods' eight-shot romp in 2004.

    Matsuyama appeared set to make a final-round charge after a birdie on No. 2 was followed by an ace on the par-3 third hole. But he played the next eight holes in 3 over and eventually finished alone in fifth place following a 2-under 69. Afterwards, he stacked his game up against that of Koepka in a telling comment to the Japan Times.

    "I feel there's a huge gap between us," Matsuyama said.

    The Japanese phenom entered the week ranked No. 4 in the world, though he will be passed in the next rankings by Jon Rahm following the Spaniard's win in Dubai. Matsuyama won twice this year on the PGA Tour, including the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational, but he has largely struggled since missing out on a maiden major title at the PGA Championship, where he tied for fifth.

    Matsuyama was a runner-up to Koepka at the U.S. Open earlier this summer, and the 25-year-old seems headed back to the drawing board before defending his title at the Hero World Challenge in two weeks.

    "I don't know whether it's a lack of practice or whether I lack the strength to keep playing well," Matsuyama said. "It seems there are many issues to address."

    McCormick to caddie for Spieth at Aussie Open

    By Will GrayNovember 19, 2017, 2:21 pm

    When Jordan Spieth returns next week to defend his title at the Australian Open, he will do so without his regular caddie on the bag.

    Spieth and Michael Greller have combined to win 14 tournaments and three majors, including three events in 2017. But Greller's wife, Ellie, gave birth to the couple's first child on Oct. 13, and according to a report from the Australian Herald Sun he will not make the intercontinental trip to Sydney, where Spieth will look to win for the third time in the last four years.

    Instead, Spieth will have longtime swing coach and native Aussie Cameron McCormick on the bag at The Australian Golf Club. McCormick, who won PGA Teacher of the Year in 2015, is originally from Melbourne but now lives in Texas and has taught Spieth since he was a rising star among the junior golf ranks in Dallas.

    While Greller has missed rounds before, this will be the first time as a pro that Spieth has used a different caddie for an entire event. Greller was sidelined with an injury last year in Singapore when Spieth's agent, Jay Danzi, took the bag, and trainer Damon Goddard has subbed in twice when Greller was sick, including this year at the Dean & DeLuca Invitational.

    Spieth's torrid 2015 season traced back to his win at The Australian in 2014, and he returned to Oz last year where he won a playoff at Royal Sydney over Cameron Smith and Ashley Hall.