Second Place Not So Bad for Tiger

By Associated PressJune 18, 2007, 4:00 pm
2007 U.S. OpenOAKMONT, Pa. -- Jack Nicklaus figures at least one of his major championship records is safe.
 
Tiger Woods left Oakmont having squandered another chance to win a major while playing in the last group, unable to make but one birdie in the final round of the U.S. Open despite having a short iron for his approach to the green on a half-dozen occasions.
 
The next opportunity -- maybe -- will be at Carnoustie for the British Open, where he is the two-time defending champion. And if he does show up, it will be his first major as a father. His wife is due sometime between now and then.
 
Nicklaus had his first child when he was an amateur, so he won all 18 majors with children.
 
'I think that (record) is probably in pretty good shape,' Nicklaus said earlier this year.
 
The magic number has always been 18 for Woods, who effectively launched his assault on the Nicklaus benchmark when he won four straight majors ending with the 2001 Masters, giving him six at age 25, and he hasn't hit too many dry spells since then.
 
This is not one of them.
 
Sunday at Oakmont was his fourth straight major in the final group, an incredible statistic that gets forgotten because the U.S. Open was his second straight major as a runner-up.
 
Almost as impressive as the 18 majors for Nicklaus are the 19 times he finished second.
 
Is it possible Woods can reach that record before the other?
 
It seems preposterous now, because Woods has 12 trophies and only four consolation prizes. What the last year has shown, however, is that winning starts with putting yourself in position, and no one has done that better, not even close.
 
'My last four majors,' Woods said, ticking off his record, '1, 1, 2, 2. Not terrible, but it could have been a little better.'
 
In an age of instant gratification, it can be difficult to see the big picture.
 
What made Nicklaus such a dominant force in the majors was that he was usually around the top of the leaderboard on the final round, finishing second by making a mistake ('63 British Open), getting outplayed (Lee Trevino, Tom Watson), or simply having too much ground to make up in the final round ('64 Masters).
 
During a quarter-century of contending in majors, he has experienced just about everything.
 
And maybe that's what awaits Woods.
 
The shocker was not that he missed the cut at Winged Foot last year for the first time in a major, but that it took 10 years for it to happen. Woods is 12-0 in the majors with at least a share of the 54-hole lead; one of these times, he won't win. It happened to Nicklaus, Arnold Palmer, even Ben Hogan.
 
There have been 29 majors when Woods trailed going into the final round, and he still hasn't won from behind.
 
'I haven't gotten it done,' he said. 'Put myself there, and haven't gotten it done.'
 
That will change, too.
 
What separates Woods from everyone else in the game is the number of times he gives himself a chance, and those are starting to pile up in alarming fashion. In the last 10 majors, Woods has been atop the leaderboard or within two shots seven times.
 
He has lost the last two majors to guys who hardly fit the profile of Tiger slayers. One was Zach Johnson at the Masters, who made all the birdie putts that Woods didn't. The other was Angel Cabrera at Oakmont, who hit all the iron shots that turned out badly for Woods.
 
Cabrera, playing four groups ahead of Woods, was in the fairway on the par-4 11th and stuffed his shot into 2 feet for birdie. Woods was in the bunker and fanned a shot that found the bunker, leading to his only bogey on the back nine.
 
From the first cut of rough on the 15th, Cabrera cut a shot toward the flag that stopped 3 feet behind the flag for a birdie that ultimately was the difference. Woods had a similar lie and put it over the flag, into a shaggy collar around the green, and he had to make an 8-foot par putt just to stay in the game.
 
Even without trophies, Woods hasn't lost his mystique.
 
He had to hole a shot from the 18th fairway at Augusta National to force a playoff with Johnson, and the normal guy from Cedar Rapids, Iowa, started having abnormal thoughts watching from the locker room.
 
'Before he hit it, I'm like, 'He's done stranger things,' Johnson said. 'The guy is a phenom.'
 
Woods only needed a single birdie over his final three holes at Oakmont to force a playoff, and as Cabrera watched from the clubhouse, he was making plans for one more round of Oakmont in a playoff.
 
But it didn't happen.
 
Woods did well to two-putt for par on the 244-yard 16th hole. His best chance came at the 17th, a par 4 where the tee box was moved to the front and hole played 306 yards. Woods chose 3-wood and found the right bunker, where it looked as though he would at least give himself a decent look at birdie. He said the ball caught a tiny rock in the bunker, taking off just enough spin that it rolled past the flag, down the bank and off the green.
 
Even as Woods faced a tricky lie between the first cut of rough and the deeper stuff along the 18th fairway, he had only a wedge in his hand. Cabrera was asked if he thought Woods would make birdie, and his answer needed no interpretation.'
 
'Si,' the 37-year-old Argentine said.
 
'Tiger can birdie any hole. He's the No. 1,' Cabrera later said through a translator.
 
But not at this major. And not at the last major.
 
'Finishing second is never fun,' Woods said.
 
But it's not all bad, either. And over the course of his career, it's bound to happen more often.
 
Related Links:
  • Full Coverage - U.S. Open
  • Lexi 'applaud's USGA, R&A for rules change

    By Randall MellDecember 11, 2017, 5:15 pm

    Lexi Thompson’s pain may prove to be the rest of golf’s gain.

    David Rickman, the R&A’s executive director of governance, acknowledged on Golf Channel’s "Morning Drive" Monday that the new protocols that will eliminate the use of TV viewer call-ins and emails to apply penalties was hastened by the controversy following Thompson’s four-shot penalty at the ANA Inspiration in early April. The new protocols also set up rules officials to monitor TV broadcasts beginning next year.

    “Clearly, that case has been something of a focus point for us,” Rickman said.

    Thompson reacted to the new protocols in an Instagram post.

    “I applaud the USGA and the R&A for their willingness to revise the Rules of Golf to address certain unfortunate situations that have arisen several times in the game of golf,” Thompson wrote. “In my case, I am thankful no one else will have to deal with an outcome such as mine in the future.”

    Thompson was penalized two shots for improperly returning her ball to its mark on a green during Saturday’s round after a viewer emailed LPGA officials during Sunday’s broadcast. She was penalized two more shots for signing an incorrect scorecard for her Saturday round. Thompson ultimately lost in a playoff to So Yeon Ryu.

    The new protocols will also eliminate the additional two-shot penalty a player receives for failing to include a penalty when a player was unaware of the penalty.

    Shortly after the ANA Inspiration, the USGA and R&A led the formation of a video review working group, which included the PGA Tour, LPGA, European Tour, Ladies European Tour and PGA of America.

    Also, just three weeks after Thompson was hit with the four-shot penalty, the USGA and R&A released a new Rules of Golf decision decision (34-3/10) limiting video evidence in two ways:

    1. If an infraction can’t be seen with the naked eye, there’s no penalty, even if video shows otherwise.

    2. If a tournament committee determines that a player does “all that can be reasonably expected to make an accurate estimation or measurement” in determining a line or position to play from or to spot a ball, then there will be no penalty even if video replay later shows that to be wrong.

    While the USGA and R&A said the new decision wasn’t based on Thompson’s ANA incident, LPGA players immediately began calling it the “Lexi Rule.”

    Getty Images

    PGA Tour, LPGA react to video review rules changes

    By Golf Channel DigitalDecember 11, 2017, 1:32 pm

    The USGA and R&A announced on Monday updates to the Rules of Golf, including no longer accepting call-ins relating to violations. The PGA Tour and LPGA, which were both part of a working group of entities who voted on the changes, issued the following statements:

    PGA Tour:

    The PGA Tour has worked closely with the USGA and R&A on this issue in recent years, and today's announcement is another positive step to ensure the Rules of Golf align with how the game is presented and viewed globally. The PGA Tour will adopt the new Local Rule beginning January 1, 2018 and evolve our protocols for reviewing video evidence as outlined.

    LPGA:

    We are encouraged by the willingness of the governing bodies to fully vet the issues and implement real change at a pace much quicker than the sport has seen previously. These new adaptations, coupled with changes announced earlier this year, are true and meaningful advances for the game. The LPGA plans to adopt fully the protocols and new Local Rule as outlined.

    Getty Images

    Sharma closes on Monday, wins Joburg Open

    By Associated PressDecember 11, 2017, 12:43 pm

    JOHANNESBURG – Shubhankar Sharma won his first European Tour title by a shooting 3-under 69 Monday in the final round of the weather-delayed Joburg Open.

    The 21-year-old Indian resumed his round on the eighth green after play was halted early Sunday afternoon because of storms. He parred that hole, birdied No. 9 and made par on every hole on the back nine.


    Full-field scores from the Joburg Open


    Sharma finished at 23-under 264, three strokes ahead of the pack, and qualified for next year's British Open, too.

    ''I actually wasn't going to come here about a week ago ... so I'm really happy that I came,'' said Sharma, who shot 61 in the second round. ''I don't think I'm ever going forget my first time in South Africa.''

    Erik van Rooyen (66) was second, three strokes ahead of Shaun Norris (65) and Tapio Pulkkanen (68).

    Getty Images

    Newsmakers of the Year: Top 10 in 2017

    By Golf Channel DigitalDecember 11, 2017, 12:30 pm