Veteran Parry Wins Aussie Open

By Associated PressDecember 16, 2007, 5:00 pm
PGA TOUR of AustralasiaSYDNEY, Australia -- Craig Parry made a 15-foot par putt on the 17th hole to shoot a 3-under 69 for a one-stroke victory in the Australian Open on Sunday.
 
Parry, who won his first national championship in 24 attempts, laid up on the par-5 18th rather than risk going for the green in two shots. He missed a birdie putt, but only had inches left for a tap-in to give him an 11-under total of 277 on The Australian course made soft by steady rain over much of the final day.
 
'I've worked pretty hard over my whole career, and this is the one I wanted,' said Parry, wiping tears from his eyes. 'I've been runner-up a few times, finished third, been up there on the leaderboard, but never won it.'
 
Parry, who played in Japan this year after a long career on the PGA Tour, was one stroke ahead of three players at 10 under -- American Brandt Snedeker (69) and Australians Lee Won-joon (66) and Nick O'Hern (70).
 
Snedeker called a penalty on himself with five holes to play when he tried to remove a leaf and his ball moved.
 
The 41-year-old Parry equaled The Australian course record of 64 -- held by Greg Norman and Steve Elkington -- on Friday.
 
James Nitties, overnight leader with Robert Allenby, had a chance of forcing a playoff but duffed his chip for an eagle at the last hole in torrential rain with thunder and lightning approaching the course.
 
Nitties (73) finished tied for fifth with Stuart Appleby (72), two strokes back of Parry. Allenby, who shot a final-round 75, was tied for 11th and four shots back.
 
Parry has 22 professional titles, including 12 in Australia, but the closest he came to winning the Australian Open was losing a playoff to American John Morse in 1990 -- on the same course.
 
Asked what he was going to do now, Parry jokingly said 'retire.'
 
'This has obviously meant a lot to me for a long time,' he said. '(In) '84 I was leading amateur and Tom Watson was the champion. I've been close a few times, runner-up a couple of times and top three about eight times and just could never get there.'
 
Related Links:
  • Full Coverage - MFS Australian Open
     
    Copyright 2007 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.
  • Lexi 'applaud's USGA, R&A for rules change

    By Randall MellDecember 11, 2017, 5:15 pm

    Lexi Thompson’s pain may prove to be the rest of golf’s gain.

    David Rickman, the R&A’s executive director of governance, acknowledged on Golf Channel’s "Morning Drive" Monday that the new protocols that will eliminate the use of TV viewer call-ins and emails to apply penalties was hastened by the controversy following Thompson’s four-shot penalty at the ANA Inspiration in early April. The new protocols also set up rules officials to monitor TV broadcasts beginning next year.

    “Clearly, that case has been something of a focus point for us,” Rickman said.

    Thompson reacted to the new protocols in an Instagram post.

    “I applaud the USGA and the R&A for their willingness to revise the Rules of Golf to address certain unfortunate situations that have arisen several times in the game of golf,” Thompson wrote. “In my case, I am thankful no one else will have to deal with an outcome such as mine in the future.”

    Thompson was penalized two shots for improperly returning her ball to its mark on a green during Saturday’s round after a viewer emailed LPGA officials during Sunday’s broadcast. She was penalized two more shots for signing an incorrect scorecard for her Saturday round. Thompson ultimately lost in a playoff to So Yeon Ryu.

    The new protocols will also eliminate the additional two-shot penalty a player receives for failing to include a penalty when a player was unaware of the penalty.

    Shortly after the ANA Inspiration, the USGA and R&A led the formation of a video review working group, which included the PGA Tour, LPGA, European Tour, Ladies European Tour and PGA of America.

    Also, just three weeks after Thompson was hit with the four-shot penalty, the USGA and R&A released a new Rules of Golf decision decision (34-3/10) limiting video evidence in two ways:

    1. If an infraction can’t be seen with the naked eye, there’s no penalty, even if video shows otherwise.

    2. If a tournament committee determines that a player does “all that can be reasonably expected to make an accurate estimation or measurement” in determining a line or position to play from or to spot a ball, then there will be no penalty even if video replay later shows that to be wrong.

    While the USGA and R&A said the new decision wasn’t based on Thompson’s ANA incident, LPGA players immediately began calling it the “Lexi Rule.”

    Getty Images

    PGA Tour, LPGA react to video review rules changes

    By Golf Channel DigitalDecember 11, 2017, 1:32 pm

    The USGA and R&A announced on Monday updates to the Rules of Golf, including no longer accepting call-ins relating to violations. The PGA Tour and LPGA, which were both part of a working group of entities who voted on the changes, issued the following statements:

    PGA Tour:

    The PGA Tour has worked closely with the USGA and R&A on this issue in recent years, and today's announcement is another positive step to ensure the Rules of Golf align with how the game is presented and viewed globally. The PGA Tour will adopt the new Local Rule beginning January 1, 2018 and evolve our protocols for reviewing video evidence as outlined.

    LPGA:

    We are encouraged by the willingness of the governing bodies to fully vet the issues and implement real change at a pace much quicker than the sport has seen previously. These new adaptations, coupled with changes announced earlier this year, are true and meaningful advances for the game. The LPGA plans to adopt fully the protocols and new Local Rule as outlined.

    Getty Images

    Sharma closes on Monday, wins Joburg Open

    By Associated PressDecember 11, 2017, 12:43 pm

    JOHANNESBURG – Shubhankar Sharma won his first European Tour title by a shooting 3-under 69 Monday in the final round of the weather-delayed Joburg Open.

    The 21-year-old Indian resumed his round on the eighth green after play was halted early Sunday afternoon because of storms. He parred that hole, birdied No. 9 and made par on every hole on the back nine.


    Full-field scores from the Joburg Open


    Sharma finished at 23-under 264, three strokes ahead of the pack, and qualified for next year's British Open, too.

    ''I actually wasn't going to come here about a week ago ... so I'm really happy that I came,'' said Sharma, who shot 61 in the second round. ''I don't think I'm ever going forget my first time in South Africa.''

    Erik van Rooyen (66) was second, three strokes ahead of Shaun Norris (65) and Tapio Pulkkanen (68).

    Getty Images

    Newsmakers of the Year: Top 10 in 2017

    By Golf Channel DigitalDecember 11, 2017, 12:30 pm