Power Rankings: Mayakoba Golf Classic

By February 20, 2012, 4:00 pm

The PGA Tour's West Coast Swing concludes this week with the first World Golf Championships event of the year, the WGC-Accenture Match Play in Arizona. Sixty-four of the top 66 players in the world will meet up at Dove Mountain in the year's only official match play event on this side of the Atlantic and you can see our rankings for that event here.

Meanwhile, the players who didn't qualify for Road to the Final Fore are teeing it up in Riviera Maya, Mexico for the Mayakoba Golf Classic and we rank the contenders below. This full-field event can propel its winner to bigger and better things; just ask last year's winner, Johnson Wagner.

After taking a look at our picks for the week, tweet yours using the hashtag #GCFantasy and follow me @RyanBallengeeGC. Also be sure to join the Golf Channel Fantasy Challenge to test yourself against our panel of experts, including defending champion Win McMurry.

1. Jarrod Lyle: The Aussie finished T-5 near Cancun last year and T-9 in '10. He had a chance on Sunday at Riviera - a good combo for the week ahead.

2. Johnson Wagner: The defending champion didn't make the WGC field, so he gets another crack in Mexico. A winner already at Sony, Wagner is playing great golf.

3. Spencer Levin: Falling to Wagner in a playoff last year, Levin rebounded nicely from the collapse in Phoenix with a T-9 in Pebble Beach.

4. Charles Howell III: He knocked on the door at the Sony, finishing T-2, and has been in the top 20 in Mexico in the last two years.

5. Brian Gay: Gay was T-5 here last year, and the three-time PGA Tour winner is playing well. He's fresh with a week off after finishing T-20 at Pebble.

6. Cameron Beckman: The 2010 champion has made three PGA Tour cuts in a row and been in the top 15 at Mayakoba in four of five starts.

7. Briny Baird: Baird has been in the top five here in each of the last two years. Made his first cut of the year at Riviera. 

8. John Huh: For the rookie Huh, he's made four cuts in four events. His best finish is a T-6 at Torrey, then a T-12 in Phoenix. Meld the two courses and Huh finds himself at Mayakoba.

9. Joe Ogilvie: Ogilvie made his 10th ace at Riviera, though a poor Sunday made his finish look worse than he played. Was in the top 20 here in 2007 and '08.

10. Tom Lehman: Finishing T-3 last week on the Champions Tour, Lehman was T-13 in this event last year. He can still hang on the PGA Tour.

You can watch complete coverage of the Mayakoba Golf Classic Thursday-Sunday on Golf Channel from 6:30PM-8:30PM ET.
Getty Images

McCoy earns medalist honors at Web.com Q-School

By Will GrayDecember 11, 2017, 12:30 am

One year after his budding career was derailed by a car accident, Lee McCoy got back on track by earning medalist honors at the final stage of Web.com Tour Q-School.

McCoy shot a final-round 65 at Whirlwind Golf Club in Chandler, Ariz., to finish the 72-hole event at 28 under. That total left him two shots ahead of Sung-Jae Im and guaranteed him fully-exempt status on the developmental circuit in 2018.

It's an impressive turnaround for the former University of Georgia standout who finished fourth at the 2016 Valspar Championship as an amateur while playing alongside Jordan Spieth in the final round. But he broke his wrist in a car accident the day before second stage of Q-School last year, leaving him without status on any major tour to begin the year.

McCoy was not the only player who left Arizona smiling. Everyone in the top 10 and ties will be exempt through the first 12 events of the new Web.com Tour season, a group that includes former amateur standouts Curtis Luck (T-3), Sam Burns (T-10) and Maverick McNealy (T-10).

Players who finished outside the top 10 but inside the top 45 and ties earned exemptions into the first eight events of 2018. That group includes Cameron Champ (T-16), who led the field in driving at this year's U.S. Open as an amateur, and Wyndham Clark (T-23).

Everyone who advanced to the final stage of Q-School will have at least conditional Web.com Tour status in 2018. Among those who failed to secure guaranteed starts this week were Robby Shelton, Rico Hoey, Jordan Niebrugge, Joaquin Niemann and Kevin Hall.

Els honored with Heisman Humanitarian Award

By Golf Channel DigitalDecember 10, 2017, 11:41 pm

The annual Heisman Trophy award ceremony is one of the biggest moments in any football season, but there was a touching non-football moment as well on Saturday night as Ernie Els received the Heisman Humanitarian Award.

The award, which had been announced in August, recognized Els' ongoing efforts on behalf of his Els for Autism foundation. Els received the award at Manhattan's PlayStation Theater, where Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield won the Heisman Trophy.

Els, 47, founded Els for Autism in 2009 with his wife after their son, Ben, was diagnosed with autism. Their efforts have since flourished into a 26-acre campus in Jupiter, Fla., and the creation of the Els Center for Excellence in 2015.

The Heisman Humanitarian Award has been given out since 2006. Past recipients include NBA center David Robinson, NFL running back Warrick Dunn, soccer star Mia Hamm and NASCAR driver Jeff Gordon.

A native of South Africa, Els won the U.S. Open in 1994 and 1997 and The Open in 2002 and 2012. He has won 19 times on the PGA Tour and was inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame in 2011.

Getty Images

Monday finish for Joburg Open; Sharma leads by 4

By Golf Channel DigitalDecember 10, 2017, 8:57 pm

Rain, lightning and hail pushed the Joburg Open to a Monday finish, with India’s Shubhankar Sharma holding a four-stroke lead with 11 holes to play in Johannesburg.

Play is scheduled to resume at 7:30 a.m. local time.

South Africa’s Erik van Rooyen will have a 3-foot putt for birdie to move within three shots of Sharma wen play resumes at the Randpark Golf Club. Sarma is at 22 under par.

Tapio Pulkkanen of Finland and James Morrison of England are tied for third at 14 under. Pulkkanen has 10 holes remaining, Morrison 11.

The top three finishers who are not already exempt, will get spots in next year’s Open Championship at Carnoustie.



Stricker, O'Hair team to win QBE Shootout

By Will GrayDecember 10, 2017, 8:55 pm

It may not count in the official tally, but Steve Stricker is once again in the winner's circle on the PGA Tour.

Stricker teamed with Sean O'Hair to win the two-person QBE Shootout, as the duo combined for a better-ball 64 in the final round to finish two shots clear of Graeme McDowell and Shane Lowry. It's the second win in this event for both men; Stricker won with Jerry Kelly back in 2009 while O'Hair lifted the trophy with Kenny Perry in 2012.

Stricker and O'Hair led wire-to-wire in the 54-hole, unofficial event after posting a 15-under 57 during the opening-round scramble.

"We just really gelled well together," Stricker said. "With his length the first day, getting some clubs into the greens, some short irons for me, we just fed off that first day quite a bit. We felt comfortable with one another."

Full-field scores from the QBE Shootout

Stricker won 12 times during his PGA Tour career, most recently at the 2012 Tournament of Champions. More recently the 50-year-old has been splitting his time on the PGA Tour Champions and captained the U.S. to a victory at the Presidents Cup in October. O'Hair has four official Tour wins, most recently at the 2011 RBC Canadian Open.

Pat Perez and Brian Harman finished alone in third, four shots behind Stricker and O'Hair. Lexi Thompson and Tony Finau, the lone co-ed pairing in the 12-team event, finished among a tie for fourth.