Glover's run at 59 ends on sour note with three-putt

By Will GrayAugust 20, 2016, 12:38 am

GREENSBORO, N.C. – While it ended on a sour note, the second round of the Wyndham Championship was still a memorable effort for Lucas Glover.

The former U.S. Open champ caught fire Friday afternoon at Sedgefield Country Club, playing the first 16 holes of the par-70 layout in 10 under to give himself a chance at the rarified air of a sub-60 score.

But Glover’s putter, which had been surprisingly cooperative throughout the day, failed him when he missed an 8-footer for birdie on No. 17. Then it cost him again when he left a 27-foot putt for birdie – and a 59 – a mere 19 inches short of the target.

Then it really abandoned him when Glover nearly whiffed his short par attempt, left to stomach a closing three-putt bogey for a 61.


Wyndham Championship: Articles, photos and videos


“I kind of lost concentration a little bit, got eaten up by the moment,” Glover said of his short miss to end the round. “You know, wasn’t focused. My fault, stupid, but it happens.”

Glover’s Achilles’ heel has long been the putter, as he entered the week ranked No. 161 on the PGA Tour in strokes gained putting. Despite the lackluster finish, Glover still picked up more than 3.5 strokes on the field with the putter during the second round, and at 10 under he sits in a tie for second, two shots behind leader Si Woo Kim.

It’s a somewhat surprising result considering this is Glover’s first start since the Quicken Loans National in June.

“Five weeks of playing, was a little golfed out. Wanted some family time, and took some family time,” Glover said. “Just had a situation with my father-in-law a couple weeks ago, so withdrew from Hartford, and he’s doing better, so here we are.”

Glover has only one top-10 finish in 2016, but it also came in the Tar Heel State – a T-8 at the Wells Fargo Championship in May. After a scintillating round at Sedgefield, he’s now in position to add to that total.

“I didn’t have very many expectations, which is probably why it happened,” he said. “I’m seeing the lines really well with the putter today and speed matched, and some crazy ones went in and had a chip-in, and it just turned into one of those days.”

Lexi 'applaud's USGA, R&A for rules change

By Randall MellDecember 11, 2017, 5:15 pm

Lexi Thompson’s pain may prove to be the rest of golf’s gain.

David Rickman, the R&A’s executive director of governance, acknowledged on Golf Channel’s "Morning Drive" Monday that the new protocols that will eliminate the use of TV viewer call-ins and emails to apply penalties was hastened by the controversy following Thompson’s four-shot penalty at the ANA Inspiration in early April. The new protocols also set up rules officials to monitor TV broadcasts beginning next year.

“Clearly, that case has been something of a focus point for us,” Rickman said.

Thompson reacted to the new protocols in an Instagram post.

“I applaud the USGA and the R&A for their willingness to revise the Rules of Golf to address certain unfortunate situations that have arisen several times in the game of golf,” Thompson wrote. “In my case, I am thankful no one else will have to deal with an outcome such as mine in the future.”

Thompson was penalized two shots for improperly returning her ball to its mark on a green during Saturday’s round after a viewer emailed LPGA officials during Sunday’s broadcast. She was penalized two more shots for signing an incorrect scorecard for her Saturday round. Thompson ultimately lost in a playoff to So Yeon Ryu.

The new protocols will also eliminate the additional two-shot penalty a player receives for failing to include a penalty when a player was unaware of the penalty.

Shortly after the ANA Inspiration, the USGA and R&A led the formation of a video review working group, which included the PGA Tour, LPGA, European Tour, Ladies European Tour and PGA of America.

Also, just three weeks after Thompson was hit with the four-shot penalty, the USGA and R&A released a new Rules of Golf decision decision (34-3/10) limiting video evidence in two ways:

1. If an infraction can’t be seen with the naked eye, there’s no penalty, even if video shows otherwise.

2. If a tournament committee determines that a player does “all that can be reasonably expected to make an accurate estimation or measurement” in determining a line or position to play from or to spot a ball, then there will be no penalty even if video replay later shows that to be wrong.

While the USGA and R&A said the new decision wasn’t based on Thompson’s ANA incident, LPGA players immediately began calling it the “Lexi Rule.”

Getty Images

PGA Tour, LPGA react to video review rules changes

By Golf Channel DigitalDecember 11, 2017, 1:32 pm

The USGA and R&A announced on Monday updates to the Rules of Golf, including no longer accepting call-ins relating to violations. The PGA Tour and LPGA, which were both part of a working group of entities who voted on the changes, issued the following statements:

PGA Tour:

The PGA Tour has worked closely with the USGA and R&A on this issue in recent years, and today's announcement is another positive step to ensure the Rules of Golf align with how the game is presented and viewed globally. The PGA Tour will adopt the new Local Rule beginning January 1, 2018 and evolve our protocols for reviewing video evidence as outlined.

LPGA:

We are encouraged by the willingness of the governing bodies to fully vet the issues and implement real change at a pace much quicker than the sport has seen previously. These new adaptations, coupled with changes announced earlier this year, are true and meaningful advances for the game. The LPGA plans to adopt fully the protocols and new Local Rule as outlined.

Getty Images

Sharma closes on Monday, wins Joburg Open

By Associated PressDecember 11, 2017, 12:43 pm

JOHANNESBURG – Shubhankar Sharma won his first European Tour title by a shooting 3-under 69 Monday in the final round of the weather-delayed Joburg Open.

The 21-year-old Indian resumed his round on the eighth green after play was halted early Sunday afternoon because of storms. He parred that hole, birdied No. 9 and made par on every hole on the back nine.


Full-field scores from the Joburg Open


Sharma finished at 23-under 264, three strokes ahead of the pack, and qualified for next year's British Open, too.

''I actually wasn't going to come here about a week ago ... so I'm really happy that I came,'' said Sharma, who shot 61 in the second round. ''I don't think I'm ever going forget my first time in South Africa.''

Erik van Rooyen (66) was second, three strokes ahead of Shaun Norris (65) and Tapio Pulkkanen (68).

Getty Images

Newsmakers of the Year: Top 10 in 2017

By Golf Channel DigitalDecember 11, 2017, 12:30 pm