Updated July 30 at 8:01 a.m. ET:
Colt Knost made the cut, at 2 over par. He was one of 86 players to make the cut on the number.
SPRINGFIELD, N.J. – A pin-sheet error could prove to be the difference in Colt Knost’s weekend plans at the PGA Championship.
Knost was in the first group off the back nine Friday morning amid heavy rain at Baltusrol Golf Club. To make matters worse, the group was provided a pin sheet that incorrectly identified the hole location for No. 10, their first hole of the day.
The sheet provided to the players indicated the hole on No. 10 was 21 paces on and four from the left side of the green. Instead, the hole was 19 paces on and five from the right.
The error went unnoticed by Knost, who played his shot to the right side of the green – intending to err on the side of caution – and was surprised to realize he had short-sided his 5-wood approach. He ended up making bogey.
“People are going to say we should be able to tell which side of the green it’s on, but I mean, I was 210 yards out and it was raining rather hard. We just expect the pin [sheet] to be right,” Knost said after a 3-over 73 left him at 2 over for the tournament. “It’s a big deal, it’s a big difference. It shouldn’t happen in tournaments like this.”
The PGA of America quickly distributed a revised pin sheet to players, but it came after Knost’s group had played the hole. In the group behind, Gary Woodland and Ryan Palmer both stated that they noticed the error from the 10th tee box.
“I was on 10 tee and I looked up, I said to the official next to us, ‘That pin is not right,’” Palmer said. “I said, ‘You’ve got 21 on and four from the left and that pin is on the right side of the green.’ He said, ‘Well, the green is narrow up there.’”
“By the time we got to the fairway, we saw them walking it off so we knew it was wrong,” Woodland said. “It was just, it was a mess obviously.”
Play continued for 75 minutes before a stoppage because of saturated conditions, and during the subsequent delay another hole location was changed, this time to No. 8, which necessitated a second revision of the pin sheet.
“We ended up having three different pin sheets today, so there was a great deal of miscommunication for sure,” Palmer said.
The PGA of America released a statement addressing the error shortly after Knost completed his round.
“The PGA of America rules committee did not notice the hole had been cut in the incorrect location until after each member of Group 14 (Knost, Joe Summerhays and Yuta Ikeda) had hit his second shot to the green,” the statement read. “The hole location played by Group 14 was provided (in) a revised hole location sheet to all subsequent groups, meaning all the groups today are playing the same hole location.
“PGA Chief Championships Officer Kerry Haigh met with the players in Group 14 after they signed their cards to offer an explanation, express his disappointment and apologize to them.”
Knost said that Haigh apologized for the error in the scoring area, adding that Haigh said simply, “We messed up.”
“I mean, there’s nothing they can do. It affected one group,” Knost said. “It’s just that it was us. It sucks.”
Knost birdied the next hole after the mix-up, but his 2-over total was one shot outside the projected cut line when he completed his round.
“I made bogey there and that could be the difference in me playing tomorrow or not,” he said. “I hope it’s not, but that would be pretty frustrating if it is."