Rules to Play By Oh Brother

By Golf Channel DigitalNovember 1, 2007, 4:00 pm
Editor's note: Ray Herzog, a rules expert from the San Diego Golf Academy in Orlando, Fla., will be presiding over cases presented by you the reader. Please submit your on-course dispute and let Rules Judge Ray settle it.
 
Case presented by Rick Campbell:
 
My brother wore the SWING GLOVE that Rick Smith sells. After the match I told him he was DQ'd for using a training aid. He said it wasn't. Am I right or wrong? I have a big grudge match coming up with him next week. Thank You.
 
Rick,
 
I read your question and thought it was very important to give you the correct answer. Having an older brother myself, I know how important every match is. Congratulations, you are officially 1 up in the win column. Based on the fact that your brother used an artificial device that might assist him in making a stroke, he was disqualified as soon as he used it during the round.
 
If he is anything like my brother, he will not go down without a fight. Have him look up rule 14-3b, Artificial Devices and Unusual Equipment; it is right there. Then point out the sentence in red, right below the rule -- PENALTY FOR BREACH OF RULE 14-3: Disqualification.
 
Any other questions I can help you with, dont hesitate to send it in. I am always here to keep a good sibling rivalry going.
-- Ray
 
Case presented by Tommy Williams:
 
We were playing a stroke-play tournament. (My) fellow competitor hit a ball towards a lateral hazard that had no water but (was) marked as such. The hazard extended down the whole hole on our right side. The area had some trees down the same side but no high grasses or rough. The hole slightly 'dogged ' to the right which blocked the view from the tee. He stated he wanted to hit a provisional ball. I told him he could not do so because the ball could not be lost, as there was no place for the ball to be except in the 'dry' lateral hazard or in play. Then, before he hit his ball, the group in front of us indicated by waving their hands that the ball was in the hazard and had found it for him. He played a provisional ball anyway. Moving to both balls, the provisional ball was picked up and the original ball was played from the dry hazard and my competitor made a par with (the) ball from the hazard. What is the ruling?
 
Tommy,
 
Your fellow competitor made a number of mistakes. I will list them in order:
 
1) When he played a provisional ball when his original ball was in a water hazard he did not follow the correct procedure for a provisional ball. He was not permitted to hit a provisional in this situation. As soon as he teed up another ball and hit it, the second ball is now the ball in play.
 
2) When he drove up the fairway and picked up what he thought was his provisional, he received a one-stroke penalty under 18-2a. He is now required to replace the ball on the spot from which it was moved.
 
3) When he played the original ball after it was out of play, he played a wrong ball. The interesting thing is he would not be immediately penalized. There is no penalty if a competitor makes a stroke at a wrong ball in a hazard. So he would not be penalized for hitting the ball out of the hazard, but as soon as he putted the ball on the green, he would then be penalized. The penalty is two strokes and you have to correct your mistake before you tee off the next hole. He should have gone back to the spot where he picked up his second drive, and replaced the ball.
 
4) When he did not correct the wrong ball, as soon as he teed off the next tee, he would be disqualified. He holed out with the wrong ball and did not correct the error.
 
He definitely made a mess of that hole.
 
Thanks for the questions,
Ray
 
Email your on-course rules dispute to Rules Judge Ray
Getty Images

Kelly, Sauers co-lead in Hawaii; Monty, Couples in mix

By Associated PressJanuary 19, 2018, 3:52 am

KAILUA-KONA, Hawaii - Fresh off a solid performance on Oahu, Jerry Kelly shot an 8-under 64 on the Big Island on Thursday to share the first-round lead at the Mitsubishi Electric Championship, the season opener on the PGA Tour Champions.

The 51-year-old Kelly, who tied for 14th at the PGA Tour's Sony Open last week in Honolulu, birdied five of his final seven holes to shoot 30 on the back nine at Hualalai. He won twice last season, his first on the over-50 tour.

Gene Sauers also shot 64, going bogey-free amid calm conditions. Thirty-two of the 44 players broke par in the limited-field event, which includes winners from last season, past champions of the event, major champions and Hall of Famers.

Rocco Mediate and Colin Montgomerie were one shot back, and Fred Couples, Kevin Sutherland and Kirk Triplett were another shot behind.

Bernhard Langer, defending the first of his seven 2017 titles, was in the middle of the pack after a 69.

Getty Images

Rahm (62) fires career low round

By Will GrayJanuary 19, 2018, 12:03 am

The scores were predictably low during the opening round of the CareerBuilder Challenge, where the top-ranked player in the field currently sits atop the standings. Here's how things look after the first day in Palm Springs as Jon Rahm is out to an early advantage:

Leaderboard: Jon Rahm (-10), Austin Cook (-9), Andrew Landry (-9), Jason Kokrak (-9), Brandon Harkins (-8), Martin Piller (-8), Aaron Wise (-8), Beau Hossler (-8)

What it means: Rahm is coming off a runner-up finish two weeks ago at Kapalua, and he picked up right where he left off with a 10-under 62 at La Quinta Country Club. It marked his lowest career round on the PGA Tour, and it gave him a one-shot lead heading to the Nicklaus Tournament Course. Cook is the only player within two shots of Rahm who has won already on Tour.

Round of the day: Rahm got off to a fast start, playing his first seven holes in 6 under, and he made it around La Quinta without dropping a shot. The 62 bettered his previous career low on Tour by two shots and it included an eagle on the par-5 fifth hole to go along with eight birdies.

Best of the rest: Cook was a winner earlier this season at the RSM Classic, and he's now in the mix for trophy No. 2 following a 9-under 63 on the Nicklaus Tournament Course. Like Rahm, he opened with a seven-hole stretch at 6 under and turned in a scorecard without a bogey. He'll now head to the more difficult Stadium Course for his second round.

Biggest disappointment: Patrick Reed blitzed the three-course rotation in Palm Springs en route to his first career Tour title back in 2014, but he's unlikely to repeat that feat after opening with a 2-over 74 on the Nicklaus Tournament course. Reed made only one birdie against three bogeys and was one of only 32 players in the 156-man field who failed to break par in the opening round.

Main storyline heading into Friday: Rahm deserves the spotlight, as he entered the week as one of the event's headliners and did nothing to lose that billing in the opening round. But the pack of contenders is sure to keep pace, while players like Phil Mickelson (-2) will look to put up a low score in order to build some momentum heading into the weekend.

Shot of the day: Wesley Bryan's 7-under 65 on the Nicklaus Tournament course was helped in large part by an eagle on the par-4 10th, where he holed a 54-degree wedge from 112 yards away. Bryan went on to birdie the next hole amid a five-hole stretch of 5 under play.

Quote of the day: "Shot 10 under par. There's not much more I can ask for." - Rahm

Getty Images

Recent winner Cook contending at CareerBuilder

By Will GrayJanuary 18, 2018, 11:45 pm

Patton Kizzire is currently the only two-time PGA Tour winner this season, but Austin Cook hopes to join him this week at the CareerBuilder Challenge.

Cook won for the first time in November at the RSM Classic, a victory that catapaulted him from the Web.com Tour graduate category into an entirely new echelon. Cook notched a pair of top-25 finishes over the last two weeks in Hawaii, and he's again in the mix after an opening 63 on the Nicklaus Tournament Course left him one shot behind Jon Rahm.

"Today was great," Cook told reporters. "The conditions were perfect, but I always loved desert golf and I was just hitting the ball well and seeing good lines on the greens and hitting good putts."

Cook got off to a fast start, playing his first seven holes in 6 under highlighted by an eagle on the par-5 fourth hole. He briefly entertained the notion of a sub-60 round after birdies on Nos. 10 and 11 before closing with six pars and a birdie.


CareerBuilder Challenge: Articles, photos and videos


Cook was a relative unknown before his victory at Sea Island earlier this season, but now with the flexibility and confidence afforded by a win he hopes to build on his burgeoning momentum this week in California.

"That was a big, proud moment for myself, knowing that I can finish a tournament," Cook said. "I think it was one of those things that I've proven to myself that now I can do it, and it just meant the world to me."

Getty Images

Photo: Fleetwood's phone cover is picture of Bjorn

By Jason CrookJanuary 18, 2018, 11:40 pm

There's phone covers and then there are Phone Covers.

Paul Casey has himself a Phone Cover, showing off the protective case that features a picture of his wife at last year's U.S. Open.

Now, it appears, Tommy Fleetwood has joined the movement.

Fleetwood, last year's season-long Race to Dubai winner, has a phone cover with a picture of Ryder Cup captain Thomas Bjorn on it. And not even a current Thomas Bjorn. This is a young Bjorn. A hair-having Bjorn.

@tommyfleetwood_1

A post shared by Alex Noren (@alexnoren1) on

The 26-year-old is a virtual lock for this year's European Ryder Cup team, but just in case, he's carrying around a phone with a picture of the team captain attached to the back of it.

It's a bold strategy, Cotton. Let's see if it pays off for him.