Liselotte Neumann Press Conference Transcript

By Golf Channel NewsroomMarch 23, 2001, 5:00 pm
LISELOTTE NEUMANN: I birdied No. 2 which was the sandwedge to six feet. Then it was solid golf, I hit every green for the front 9. Finally made a birdie on 10. That was an 8-iron to six feet. Then birdie on 11 which is the par 5 I had my second shot was just short of green. I chipped it up to five feet; made that putt for birdie. Then I had a bogey on 17 where I hit a 5-iron off the tee in the left bunker and hit my bunker shot to about six feet, I missed that putt.
 
Q. How have you played this year and what has been the problem you think?
 
LISELOTTE NEUMANN: I just haven't been driving the ball that well. Little bit of struggle off the tee and just haven't had much confidence in my game. This last four, five days or so feels like my game is starting to come around a little bit and able to drive the ball a little bit better/TER today. Still missed a couple of shots, but still hit a lot of greens, so I am quite pleased with today's round compared to the beginning of the year.
 
Q. Can you talk about last week what happened?
 
LISELOTTE NEUMANN: Last week our 9th hole was like a double green. It ended up -- the putting green and the 9th green were connected. And what the LPGA did, they just draw a little red line and said the 9th green ends here and I just thought it was off the green so just I putted it because I was on the putting green, but I have putted it back, but you are not allowed to play a shot off a wrong green. I would have to take a release. But no one noticed until -- I played another nine holes and obviously signed my score card and no one ever noticed I had done something wrong and I didn't know. So that is a DQ yeah.
 
Q. You get DQ'd last week; you haven't been driving real well. How much confidence did you have going into this week?
 
LISELOTTE NEUMANN: Not much. (Laughs) The only good thing is that I started to hit the ball much better when I came out and the good thing with getting DQ'd was that I could come out here and I got extra practice rounds in. So I played here on both Saturday and Sunday and then Monday and then Wednesday. So I got four rounds at this golf course. So it was something positive. You got to look at it that way, I guess, you do something stupid, got to look at the bright side of it.
 
Q. Had you not been DQ'd you would have come out Monday and...
 
LISELOTTE NEUMANN: Obviously if I would have made the cut and kept playing there I wouldn't have been able to come over here 'til Monday so at least this way at least I got a couple of extra rounds in. So it was something good came with it.
 
Q. Can you talk about the conditions of the course out there, why scores are so high?
 
LISELOTTE NEUMANN: It is tough. The rough is really, really thick. It is just hard. The course is playing pretty long so if you miss a tee shot you have shots out of the rough that there might be like 160, 170, 180 yards to the middle of the green and it is just really hard to get the ball out of the rough. That is probably one reason. These greens have always been tough. I think if you ask any player they are very difficult to read. They are just very sneaky little breaks in them. They are just really tough. Normally the scores are never really that low here.
 
Q. How did you become aware that you had done something wrong?
 
LISELOTTE NEUMANN: I didn't find out until about an hour and a half after I was done. I was just in the workout trailer working out. One of the officials came up and told me I was DQ'd. I think it was either some of the caddies or players had seen me, you know, do what I did and they reported it in later. But I mean obviously -- I mean, if I would have found out I would have reported myself, I did something wrong. It wasn't, you know, it was my mistake; not for another reason.
 
Q. Have you ever been involved in a situation like that before where a green had been divided like that?
 
LISELOTTE NEUMANN: No. Not what I could think of. No, I remember back when we used to have a tournament up in Minnesota where you actually, the 18th green was connected with the putting green and at that time I know because I was actually on the putting end, you just played it like a normal shot. So I remember putting it off the putting green into a regular green, so that is why it never entered my mind to call for a ruling or -- most of the players are very careful if you are in a situation where you really don't know, you always call for a ruling or make sure you are doing the right thing. But because I sort of felt I had been in that situation before, even though it was probably ten years ago, it just never entered my mind that I had done something wrong.
 
Q. Were you upset when they first told you or was it more like disbelief?
 
LISELOTTE NEUMANN: More disappointment, I think. I mean, in a way I was glad I didn't shoot 65 or something at that time then I would have been really sad. But I was disappointed because obviously you work hard on your game and it is like -- I feel like I am practicing, practicing, practicing and I never get to play. I missed the cut in Tucson; went to Phoenix to prepare and I play one round there. Then I am sort of out of that tournament, so I always feel like I am just preparing for the next week the whole time. Little frustration, but --
 
Q. You said someone saw the infraction, so obviously when you did it, are you upset that they didn't report it right away so you could have corrected it on your score card?
 
LISELOTTE NEUMANN: I am guessing that they didn't know at that time either; that they must have found out after we were done because if it would have been -- if I would have found out before I signed the score card it would have been a two-shot penalty and I would have still been able to continue. But now I signed obviously for a lower score than what I had. So -- I mean, I don't think anyone did it on purpose. I think it was someone figured it out after we were done.
 
Q. Can you tell me what your outlook is towards the majors this year, you think this could be a good year for you with the U.S. Open and so forth, you have done well in that one?
 
LISELOTTE NEUMANN: Yeah, usually kind of get my game together before the majors so I usually play pretty good. I am very pleased coming off a good started to, but like I said, last year wasn't a great year. Beginning of this year sort of still you know, been a struggle, so, at this time I am sort of just taking one day at a time and trying to just kind of work on my game, just be very patient and just put some good rounds together. Just trying to have a little more fun out on the golf course. It hasn't been much fun lately. So if I can just make little improvements everyday I will be quite pleased at this time. I mean right now I am going to concentrate on this week. It is hard to start thinking ahead for the U.S. Open and MacDonald's, all those. I am concentrating on this week now and then we will see how it goes.
 
Q. Do you still have your place here?
 
LISELOTTE NEUMANN: Yeah.
 
Q. Does that make you feel a little bit like the hometown girl, a little bit of comfort zone?
 
LISELOTTE NEUMANN: (Inaudible) I guess I am a member here. I think I had a little members' luck on that last hole. Hit it over the water, actually hung onto the bank just like sitting, it was in the hazard but it stayed up on the grass so I take that as a member's kick. (Laughs).
 
Q. (Inaudible)
 
LISELOTTE NEUMANN: A good friend of mine came out; he gave me a nice bottle of wine. It is a 1988 Chateau Lateur, so 1988 was the year I won the Open, so I thought that would bring me good luck. I am just going to have to put it away so I don't drink it tonight. (Laughs) It was a nice gift.

Rose wins; Aphibarnrat earns Masters bid in Indonesia

By Will GrayDecember 17, 2017, 1:59 pm

Justin Rose continued his recent run of dominance in Indonesia, while Kiradech Aphibarnrat snagged a Masters invite with some 72nd-hole dramatics.

Rose cruised to an eight-shot victory at the Indonesian Masters, carding bookend rounds of 10-under 62 that featured a brief run at a 59 during the final round. The Englishman was the highest-ranked player in the field and he led wire-to-wire, with Thailand's Phachara Khongwatmai finishing second.

Rose closes out the year as perhaps the hottest player in the world, with top-10 finishes in each of his final 10 worldwide starts. That stretch includes three victories, as Rose also won the WGC-HSBC Champions and Turkish Airlines Open. He hasn't finished outside the top 10 in a tournament since missing the cut at the PGA Championship.

Meanwhile, it took until the final hole of the final tournament of 2017 for Aphibarnrat to secure a return to the Masters. The Thai entered the week ranked No. 56 in the world, with the top 50 in the year-end world rankings earning invites to Augusta National. Needing an eagle on the 72nd hole, Aphibarnrat got just that to snag solo fifth place.

It means that he is projected to end the year ranked No. 49, while Japan's Yusaku Miyazato - who started the week ranked No. 58 and finished alone in fourth - is projected to finish No. 50. Aphibarnrat finished T-15 in his Masters debut in 2016, while Miyazato will make his first appearance in the spring.

The results in Indonesia mean that American Peter Uihlein and South Africa's Dylan Frittelli are projected to barely miss the year-end, top-50 cutoff. Their options for Masters qualification will include winning a full-point PGA Tour event in early 2018 or cracking the top 50 by the final March 25 cutoff.

Cabreras take 1-shot lead in Father/Son

By Associated PressDecember 16, 2017, 11:23 pm

ORLANDO, Fla. - Two-time major champion Angel Cabrera and Angel Cabrera Jr. birdied their last three holes for a 13-under 59 to take a one-shot lead Saturday in the PNC Father-Son Challenge.

Cabrera, a Masters and U.S. Open champion, is making his debut in this popular 36-hole scramble. His son said he practiced hard for 10 days. What helped put him at ease was watching his father make so many putts.

''We combined very well,'' Cabrera said. ''When I hit a bad shot, he hit a good one. That's the key.''

They had a one-shot lead over Mark O'Meara and Shaun O'Meara, who are playing for the first time. That included a birdie on the last hole, which O'Meara attributed to the strength of his son.

''My little man hit it 58 yards by me on the 18th,'' said O'Meara, the Masters and British Open champion in 1998. ''It's a little easier coming in with a 6-iron.''

Defending champions David Duval and Nick Karavites rallied over the back nine at the Ritz-Carlton Golf Club for a 61. They are trying to become the first father-son team to repeat as winners since Bernhard and Stefan Langer in 2006. Larry Nelson won two years in a row in 2007 and 2008, but with different sons.

''I'd imagine we have to break 60 tomorrow to have a chance to win, but hey, stranger things have happened,'' Duval said. ''I've even done it myself.''

Duval shot 59 at the Bob Hope Classic to win in 1999 on his way to reaching No. 1 in the world that year.

Duval and his stepson were tied with Bernhard Langer and 17-year-old Jason Langer, who made two eagles on the last five holes. This Langer tandem won in 2014.

Jack Nicklaus, playing with grandson G.T., opened with a 68.

Getty Images

Woods' 2018 schedule coming into focus ... or is it?

By Golf Channel DigitalDecember 16, 2017, 5:46 pm

Two weeks after his successful return to competition at the Hero World Challenge, Tiger Woods’ 2018 schedule may be coming into focus.

Golfweek reported on Saturday that Woods hopes to play the Genesis Open in February according to an unidentified source with “direct knowledge of the situation.”

Woods’ agent Mark Steinberg declined to confirm the 14-time major champion would play the event and told GolfChannel.com that Woods – who underwent fusion surgery to his lower back in April – is still formulating his ’18 schedule.

Woods’ foundation is the host organization for the Genesis Open and the event supports the Tiger Woods Learning Center in Anaheim, Calif.

The Genesis Open would be Woods’ first start on the PGA Tour since he missed the cut last January at the Farmers Insurance Open.

Rose weathering delayed Indonesian Masters

By Associated PressDecember 16, 2017, 3:52 pm

JAKARTA, Indonesia - Justin Rose held a three-stroke lead after eight holes of the third round Saturday when play was suspended for the day due to bad weather at the Indonesian Masters.

Rose was 3-under on the day and led his playing partners Kiradech Aphibarnrat and Scott Vincent. The Englishman led both players by a stroke after the second round was completed Saturday morning due to weather delays on Friday.

Brandt Snedeker withdrew with apparent heat exhaustion on Friday on the 11th hole of the second round. Ranked 51st in the world, he flew to Jakarta looking to move inside the top 50 by the end of the year and ensure a spot in next year's Masters.