Did Fowler play it too safe in Scottsdale

By Golf Channel DigitalMarch 1, 2010, 11:06 pm
Did Rickie Fowler make the right decision by laying up from 230 yards on the par-5 15th at TPC Scottsdale Sunday? In this edition of Punch Shots, GolfChannel.com senior writers Randall Mell and Rex Hoggard weigh in with their opinions.

By RANDALL MELL
Say it isn’t so, Rickie.

When Rickie Fowler chose to lay up at the 15th hole Sunday at the Waste Management Phoenix Open, a 2011 PGA Tour card was probably won but a larger opportunity lost.

This was a substance-meets-style moment, a star-is-born meets legend-in-the-making moment.

Whether Fowler pulled off the shot or not, he would have won acclaim as the new face of fearless shot making for a bold new generation. If he pulled off the shot and went on to win, he would have been the water-cooler buzz this Monday morning. Even if he missed, there would have been admiration.

All those stories about how Fowler’s motocross background influenced his derring-do style of play would have taken new flight. You could almost see and hear dirt bikes whizzing and whirring in the background of a new Puma commercial as he set up over a replay of the shot.

Alas, tied for the lead, the rookie chose to lay up from 230 yards out with a good lie even though both the fellow competitors at his side (Camilo Villegas and Mark Calcavecchia) went for the green from farther back.

“I took the safe route,” Rickie said.

Say it isn’t so, Rickie.
By REX HOGGARD
The problem with the Monday morning Tour pro is the dangerous business of interpreting intent.

Did Rickie Fowler opt for the safe layup on Sunday at TPC Scottsdale’s 15th hole because he thought a wedge was his best chance for birdie or because rookies secure Tour cards before they go Roy McAvoy?

The little we know about Fowler, our guess is the former.

We know when he was 15 years old the former motocross star broke his right foot in three places on a bike. When he was 3 years old he broke his leg on a motorcycle. Not the type of DNA that is drawn to the path most-safely travelled.

Zach Johnson famously won a green jacket bunting his way around Augusta National in 2007. David Toms won a PGA with a wedge in his hand at Atlanta Athletic Club’s last hole. And only Fowler knew what the correct play was from 230 yards on Sunday.

“In the position I was in, if I was a few back I might have gone for it, but the tournament wasn’t decided at 15,” Fowler told Golf Channel. “I’d like to go back and hit the wedge shot (again).”

No reason to question Fowler’s decision, only his execution.
Getty Images

Sharma closes on Monday, wins Joburg Open

By Associated PressDecember 11, 2017, 12:43 pm

JOHANNESBURG – Shubhankar Sharma won his first European Tour title by a shooting 3-under 69 Monday in the final round of the weather-delayed Joburg Open.

The 21-year-old Indian resumed his round on the eighth green after play was halted early Sunday afternoon because of storms. He parred that hole, birdied No. 9 and made par on every hole on the back nine.


Full-field scores from the Joburg Open


Sharma finished at 23-under 264, three strokes ahead of the pack, and qualified for next year's British Open, too.

''I actually wasn't going to come here about a week ago ... so I'm really happy that I came,'' said Sharma, who shot 61 in the second round. ''I don't think I'm ever going forget my first time in South Africa.''

Erik van Rooyen (66) was second, three strokes ahead of Shaun Norris (65) and Tapio Pulkkanen (68).

Getty Images

Newsmakers of the Year: Top 10 in 2017

By Golf Channel DigitalDecember 11, 2017, 12:30 pm
Getty Images

Sharma among three Open qualifiers at Joburg Open

By Will GrayDecember 11, 2017, 12:16 pm

Shubhankar Sharma earned his first career European Tour win at the rain-delayed Joburg Open and punched his ticket to The Open in the process.

Sharma returned to Randpark Golf Club Monday morning after storms washed out much of the scheduled final day of play. Beginning the re-start with a four-shot lead, he hung on to win by three over South Africa's Erik Van Rooyen.

Both men can make travel plans for Carnoustie next summer, as this was the second event in the Open Qualifying Series with three spots available for players not otherwise exempt who finished inside the top 10. The final spot went to Shaun Norris, who tied for third with Finland's Tapio Pulkkanen but had a higher world ranking (No. 192) than Pulkkanen (No. 197) entering the week.

The Joburg Open was the final official European Tour event of the year. The next tournament in the Open Qualifying Series will be the SMBC Singapore Open in January, where four spots at Carnoustie will be up for grabs.

Rules changes include no more viewer call-ins

By Rex HoggardDecember 11, 2017, 12:00 pm

Although the Rules of Golf modernization is still a year away, officials continue to refine parts of the rulebook including an overhaul of the video review protocols.

A “working group” led by the USGA and R&A announced on Monday the new protocols, which include assigning a rule official to a tournament broadcast to resolve rules issues.

The group – which includes the PGA Tour, European Tour, LPGA tour and PGA of America – also voted to stop considering viewer call-ins when processing potential rule violations.

In addition, a new local rule was announced that will discontinue the penalty for signing an incorrect scorecard when the player was unaware of the violation.

In April, Lexi Thompson was penalized four strokes during the final round when officials at the ANA Inspiration learned via e-mail from a viewer of an infraction that occurred during the third round. Thompson was penalized two strokes for incorrectly marking her golf ball and two for signing an incorrect scorecard.

“The message is, as a fan, enjoy watching the game and the best players in the world, but also have the confidence that the committee in charge of the competition have the rules handled,” Thomas Pagel, the USGA’s senior director of the Rules of Golf, said on Golf Channel’s "Morning Drive" on Monday. “Let’s leave the rules and the administration of the event to the players and to those responsible for running the tournament.”

The working group was created in April to review the use of video in applying the rules and the role of viewer call-ins, and initially issued a decision to limit the use of video through the introduction of the “reasonable judgment” and “naked eye” standard.

According to that decision, which was not a rule, “so long as the player does what can reasonably be expected under the circumstances to make an accurate determination, the player’s reasonable judgment will be accepted, even if later shown to be inaccurate by the use of video evidence.”

The new protocols will be implemented starting on Jan. 1.

A comprehensive overhaul of the Rules of Golf is currently underway by the USGA and R&A that will begin on Jan. 1, 2019.