Voting underway to fill out field list at Mojo 6

By Randall MellFebruary 27, 2010, 2:24 am

The LPGA’s Mojo 6 tournament is evolving into a reality TV version of Big Break meets Survivor in Jamaica.

Instead of voting a player off the island, you get to vote them onto the island before the event begins.

If you’ve missed it, there’s some heavy campaigning going on for voting at

Fifteen of the 16 competitors have already been named for the unique tournament scheduled April 15-16 at Cinnamon Hill Golf Course in Montego Bay with CBS airing the event May 1-2, but you get to decide who you want the final player to be. Fans are voting who they want to join stars like Paula Creamer, Suzann Pettersen, Jiyai Shin and Cristie Kerr in an event designed to draw out personalities in intense six-hole showdown matches. Christina Kim, Morgan Pressel, Angela Stanford, Brittany Lincicome, Yani Tseng, Kristy McPherson, Anna Nordqvist, Brittany Lang, Na Yeon Choi, Amanda Blumenherst and 15-year-old amateur Mariah Stackhouse also are in the event.

The choices for the 16th spot are wide ranging with Hall of Famer Amy Alcott and second-year player Vicky Hurst on the ballot. Four-time major championship winner Laura Davies, U.S. Solheim Cup participant Nicole Castrale and major championship winners Catriona Matthew, Eun-Hee Ji and Jeong Jang also are in the running. In a bid to make it there for worthy causes, Anna Rawson has announced that she will donate all her winnings from the event to three charities if she wins the vote. Rawson has a campaign video up on her website at For the full ballot, go to

The “Raceway Golf” format will feature 30 six-hole match-play showdowns in 30 hours. Preliminary rounds set up seeding where the top players pick who they want to try to knock off as the competition advances with a $1 million purse at stake. Voting ends March 14.

Getty Images

PGA Tour, LPGA react to video review rules changes

By Golf Channel DigitalDecember 11, 2017, 1:32 pm

The USGA and R&A announced on Monday updates to the Rules of Golf, including no longer accepting call-ins relating to violations. The PGA Tour and LPGA, which were both part of a working group of entities who voted on the changes, issued the following statements:

PGA Tour:

The PGA Tour has worked closely with the USGA and R&A on this issue in recent years, and today's announcement is another positive step to ensure the Rules of Golf align with how the game is presented and viewed globally. The PGA Tour will adopt the new Local Rule beginning January 1, 2018 and evolve our protocols for reviewing video evidence as outlined.


We are encouraged by the willingness of the governing bodies to fully vet the issues and implement real change at a pace much quicker than the sport has seen previously. These new adaptations, coupled with changes announced earlier this year, are true and meaningful advances for the game. The LPGA plans to adopt fully the protocols and new Local Rule as outlined.

Getty Images

Sharma closes on Monday, wins Joburg Open

By Associated PressDecember 11, 2017, 12:43 pm

JOHANNESBURG – Shubhankar Sharma won his first European Tour title by a shooting 3-under 69 Monday in the final round of the weather-delayed Joburg Open.

The 21-year-old Indian resumed his round on the eighth green after play was halted early Sunday afternoon because of storms. He parred that hole, birdied No. 9 and made par on every hole on the back nine.

Full-field scores from the Joburg Open

Sharma finished at 23-under 264, three strokes ahead of the pack, and qualified for next year's British Open, too.

''I actually wasn't going to come here about a week ago ... so I'm really happy that I came,'' said Sharma, who shot 61 in the second round. ''I don't think I'm ever going forget my first time in South Africa.''

Erik van Rooyen (66) was second, three strokes ahead of Shaun Norris (65) and Tapio Pulkkanen (68).

Getty Images

Newsmakers of the Year: Top 10 in 2017

By Golf Channel DigitalDecember 11, 2017, 12:30 pm
Getty Images

Sharma among three Open qualifiers at Joburg Open

By Will GrayDecember 11, 2017, 12:16 pm

Shubhankar Sharma earned his first career European Tour win at the rain-delayed Joburg Open and punched his ticket to The Open in the process.

Sharma returned to Randpark Golf Club Monday morning after storms washed out much of the scheduled final day of play. Beginning the re-start with a four-shot lead, he hung on to win by three over South Africa's Erik Van Rooyen.

Both men can make travel plans for Carnoustie next summer, as this was the second event in the Open Qualifying Series with three spots available for players not otherwise exempt who finished inside the top 10. The final spot went to Shaun Norris, who tied for third with Finland's Tapio Pulkkanen but had a higher world ranking (No. 192) than Pulkkanen (No. 197) entering the week.

The Joburg Open was the final official European Tour event of the year. The next tournament in the Open Qualifying Series will be the SMBC Singapore Open in January, where four spots at Carnoustie will be up for grabs.