Hughes Holds On For Michelob Lead

By Mercer BaggsOctober 7, 2000, 4:00 pm
Bradley Hughes couldn't have started any worse, or finished much better than he did on Saturday. Leading by three strokes as the day began, Hughes bogeyed his first four holes, but birdied four of his last five to maintain a one-shot lead over three others at the Michelob Championship.
 
At 10-under, Hughes holds the slightest of advantages over David Duval, Frank Lickliter and Chris Riley. Four others, including Loren Roberts, are two shots off the lead at 8-under-par.
 
'I wanted to be leading, but not that way,' Hughes said following his 1-over-par 72. 'It was a horrible start, but it wasn't the end of the day.'
 
Beginning the day with a three-shot cushion over David Sutherland, Hughes bogeyed the par-4 1st. He then bogeyed the par-3 2nd; then the par-5 3rd; then the par-4 4th.
 
Hughes finally stopped the bleeding with a par 3 at the 5th. He even managed to reclaim a stroke before making the turn by birdying the 7th. But just as the Australian was beginning to settle down, he double-bogeyed the par-4 10th. Now at 6-under-par, Hughes had gone from three up to three down on the leaderboard.
 
While Hughes was once again hemorrhaging, others took turns sharing the top spot at the Kingsmill Resort in Williamsburg, Va., though no one was able to pull away.
 
Duval birdied the 11th and 12th holes to temporarily take the outright lead, but bogeyed the 14th to fall to 9-under-par.
 
Lickliter birdied the 16th to tie Duval at 9-under, and then grabbed the lead by his lonesome with a second-straight birdie at the par-3 17th. However, a bogey at the home hole dropped him back into a tie with Duval at 9-under.
 
Riley joined the fray by birdying three consecutive holes beginning at the 15th. That trio of birdies was good enough for a round of 3-under-par 68, and a 9-under-par total through 54 holes.
 
Once again, Duval moved in front by two-putting for birdie at the par-5 15th. But three putts at the par-4 16th dropped him back to 9-under with Riley and Lickliter; where he finished the day.
 
Playing alongside Hughes, Sutherland quietly leapfrogged the pack by birdying the 14th and 16th holes. He was now at 10-under-par and in sole possession of the lead, but it was Hughes who was making all the noise.
 
The 33-year-old Aussie birdied the 14th, 15th, 16th and 17th holes to reclaim a share of the lead.
 
Playing in the final group, Sutherland and Hughes entered the 18th deadlocked at 10-under, one shot clear of the field. Hughes found the fairway off the tee, while Sutherland found trouble. The 34-year-old Californian pushed his tee shot way right. From there he was forced to pitch back into the fairway; however, another poor shot ensued. Three putts later, Sutherland carded a double-bogey 6 to drop to 8-under-par.
 
Hughes was also in danger of dropping at least one shot. The five-time winner in Australia came up woefully short of the green on his approach shot, and was faced with an 18-foot putt to save par - which he did.
 
'It's probably good (I made that putt) in that now I am in the last group,' said Hughes, who is 126th on the money list. 'If I had missed that, I would have been second or third to the last group, I guess. It is nice. Everyone has to catch up on me.'
 
Putting was Hughes' primary problem early in the round. It was also his savior down the stretch.
 
'I just had no touch early on with my short putts and they were all left-to-right putts and I just started outside the hole. Then I would overcompensate and pushed a couple. And then 14, 15, 16 and 17 were all right-to-left putts and I put them in. So I have to try and remember that tomorrow.'
 
After his round, Duval made a trip to the fitness trailer. In just his second event following a 10-week layoff due to an ailing back, Duval said his back muscles became fatigued on Saturday.
 
'It is not a problem,' stated Duval, who shot 2-under-par 69 in the third round. 'It shouldn't be a problem tomorrow.'
 
Duval is coming off his first victory in over a year at last week's Buick Challenge. He is also a two-time winner of this event (1997, 98).
 
Getty Images

Montana parents can't watch kids play high school golf

By Grill Room TeamDecember 11, 2017, 9:47 pm

Well, this is a one new one.

According to a report from KTVQ in Montana, this line in the Montana State High School Association rule book all but forbids spectators from observing high school golf in that state:

“No spectators/fans are allowed on the course except for certain locations as designated by the tournament manager and club professional.”

Part of the issue, according to the report, is that most courses don't bother to designate those "certain locations" leaving parents unable to watch their kids compete.

“If you tell a parent that they can’t watch their kid play in the Thanksgiving Day football game, they would riot,” Chris Kelley, a high school golf parent, told KTVQ.

The report lists illegal outside coaching as one of the rule's chief motivations, but Montana State women's golf coach Brittany Basye doesn't quite buy that.

“I can go to a softball game and I can sit right behind the pitcher. I can make hand signals,” she is quoted in the report. “I can yell out names. I can do the same thing on a softball field that might affect that kid. Football games we can yell as loud as we want when someone is making a pass or a catch.”

The MHSA has argued that unlike other sports that are played in a confined area, the sprawling nature of a golf course would make it difficult to hire enough marshals to keep unruly spectators in check.

Meanwhile, there's a lawyer quoted in the report claiming this is some kind of civil rights issue.

Worth note, Montana is one of only two states that doesn't allow spectators on the course. The other state, Alaska, does not offer high school golf.

PGA Tour suspends Hensby for anti-doping violation

By Golf Channel DigitalDecember 11, 2017, 8:02 pm

Mark Hensby has been suspended for one year by the PGA Tour for violating the Tour’s anti-doping policy by failing to provide a sample after notification.

The Tour made the announcement Monday, reporting that Hensby will be eligible to return on Oct. 26, 2018.

The statement reads:

The PGA Tour announced today that Mark Hensby has violated the Tour Anti-Doping Policy for failing to provide a drug testing sample after notification and has been suspended for a period of one year. He will be eligible to return on Oct. 26, 2018.

Hensby, 46, won the John Deere Classic in 2004. He played the Web.com Tour this past year, playing just 14 events. He finished 142nd on the money list. He once ranked among the top 30 in the Official World Golf Ranking but ranks No. 1,623 today.

The Sunshine Tour recently suspended player Etienne Bond for one year for failing a drug test. Players previously suspended by the PGA Tour for violating the anti-doping policy include Scott Stallings and Doug Barron.

The PGA Tour implemented revisions to its anti-doping program with the start of the 2017-18 season. The revisions include blood testing and the supplementation of the Tour’s prohibited list to include all of the substances and methods on the World Anti-Doping Agency prohibited list. As part of this season’s revisions, the Tour announced it would also begin reporting suspensions due to recreational drug use.

The Tour said it would not issue further comment on Hensby's suspension.

Good time to hang up on viewer call-ins

By Randall MellDecember 11, 2017, 7:40 pm

Golf announced the most massive layoff in the industry’s history on Monday morning.

Armchair referees around the world were given their pink slips.

It’s a glorious jettisoning of unsolicited help.

Goodbye and good riddance.

The USGA and R&A’s announcement of a new set of protocols Monday will end the practice of viewer call-ins and emails in the reporting of rules infractions.

“What we have heard from players and committees is ‘Let’s leave the rules and administration of the event to the players and those responsible for running the tournament,’” said Thomas Pagel, the USGA’s senior director of rules and amateur status.

Amen.

The protocols, formed by a working group that included the PGA Tour, LPGA, European Tour, Ladies European Tour and the PGA of America, also establish the use of rules officials to monitor the televised broadcasts of events.

Additionally, the protocols will eliminate the two-shot penalty when a player signs an incorrect scorecard because the player was unaware of a violation.



Yes, I can hear you folks saying armchair rules officials help make sure every meaningful infraction comes to light. I hear you saying they make the game better, more honest, by helping reduce the possibility somebody violates the rules to win.

But at what cost?

The chaos and mayhem armchair referees create can ruin the spirit of fair play every bit as much as an unreported violation. The chaos and mayhem armchair rules officials create can be as much a threat to fair play as the violations themselves.

The Rules of Golf are devised to protect the integrity of the game, but perfectly good rules can be undermined by the manner and timeliness of their enforcement.

We have seen the intervention of armchair referees go beyond the ruin of fair play in how a tournament should be conducted. We have seen it threaten the credibility of the game in the eyes of fans who can’t fathom the stupidity of a sport that cannot separate common-sense enforcement from absolute devotion to the letter of the law.

In other sports, video review’s timely use helps officials get it right. In golf, video review too often makes it feel like the sport is getting it wrong, because timeliness matters in the spirit of fair play, because the retroactive nature of some punishments are as egregious as the violations themselves.  

We saw that with Lexi Thompson at the ANA Inspiration this year.

Yes, she deserved a two-shot penalty for improperly marking her ball, but she didn’t deserve the two-shot penalty for signing an incorrect scorecard. She had no idea she was signing an incorrect scorecard.

We nearly saw the ruin of the U.S. Open at Oakmont last year, with Dustin Johnson’s victory clouded by the timing of a video review that left us all uncertain if the tournament was playing out under an incorrect scoreboard.

“What these protocols are put in place for, really, is to make sure there are measures to identify the facts as soon as possible, in real time, so if there is an issue to be dealt with, that it can be handled quickly and decisively,” Pagel said.

Amen again.

We have pounded the USGA for making the game more complicated and less enjoyable than it ought to be, for creating controversy where common sense should prevail, so let’s applaud executive director Mike Davis, as well as the R&A, for putting common sense in play.

Yes, this isn’t a perfect answer to handling rules violations.

There are trap doors in the protocols that we are bound to see the game stumble into, because the game is so complex, but this is more than a good faith effort to make the game better.

This is good governance.

And compared to the glacial pace of major rules change of the past, this is swift.

This is the USGA and R&A leading a charge.

We’re seeing that with the radical modernization of the Rules of Golf scheduled to take effect in 2019. We saw it with the release of Decision 34/3-10 three weeks after Thompson’s loss at the ANA, with the decision limiting video review to “reasonable judgment” and “naked eye” standards. We’re hearing it with Davis’ recent comments about the “horrible” impact distance is having on the game, leading us to wonder if the USGA is in some way gearing up to take on the golf ball.

Yes, the new video review protocols aren’t a panacea. Rules officials will still miss violations that should have been caught. There will be questions about level playing fields, about the fairness of stars getting more video review scrutiny than the rank and file. There will be questions about whether viewer complaints were relayed to rules officials.

Golf, they say, isn’t a game of perfect, and neither is rules enforcement, though these protocols make too much sense to be pilloried. They should be applauded. They should solve a lot more problems than they create.

Lexi 'applaud's USGA, R&A for rules change

By Randall MellDecember 11, 2017, 5:15 pm

Lexi Thompson’s pain may prove to be the rest of golf’s gain.

David Rickman, the R&A’s executive director of governance, acknowledged on Golf Channel’s "Morning Drive" Monday that the new protocols that will eliminate the use of TV viewer call-ins and emails to apply penalties was hastened by the controversy following Thompson’s four-shot penalty at the ANA Inspiration in early April. The new protocols also set up rules officials to monitor TV broadcasts beginning next year.

“Clearly, that case has been something of a focus point for us,” Rickman said.

Thompson reacted to the new protocols in an Instagram post.

“I applaud the USGA and the R&A for their willingness to revise the Rules of Golf to address certain unfortunate situations that have arisen several times in the game of golf,” Thompson wrote. “In my case, I am thankful no one else will have to deal with an outcome such as mine in the future.”

Thompson was penalized two shots for improperly returning her ball to its mark on a green during Saturday’s round after a viewer emailed LPGA officials during Sunday’s broadcast. She was penalized two more shots for signing an incorrect scorecard for her Saturday round. Thompson ultimately lost in a playoff to So Yeon Ryu.

The new protocols will also eliminate the additional two-shot penalty a player receives for failing to include a penalty when a player was unaware of the penalty.

Shortly after the ANA Inspiration, the USGA and R&A led the formation of a video review working group, which included the PGA Tour, LPGA, European Tour, Ladies European Tour and PGA of America.

Also, just three weeks after Thompson was hit with the four-shot penalty, the USGA and R&A released a new Rules of Golf decision decision (34-3/10) limiting video evidence in two ways:

1. If an infraction can’t be seen with the naked eye, there’s no penalty, even if video shows otherwise.

2. If a tournament committee determines that a player does “all that can be reasonably expected to make an accurate estimation or measurement” in determining a line or position to play from or to spot a ball, then there will be no penalty even if video replay later shows that to be wrong.

While the USGA and R&A said the new decision wasn’t based on Thompson’s ANA incident, LPGA players immediately began calling it the “Lexi Rule.”