Eight is Enough at US Bank

By Sports NetworkJuly 22, 2004, 4:00 pm
US Bank Championship in MilwaukeeMILWAUKEE, Wis. -- Eight players all shot matching rounds of 5-under-par 65 Thursday to share the opening-round lead of the U.S. Bank Championship in Milwaukee.
Olin Browne, Bo Van Pelt, Todd Fischer, Brett Quigley, Patrick Sheehan, Brian Kortan, Robert Gamez and Danny Briggs sit atop the leaderboard at Brown Deer Park Golf Club.
The eight-way tie matched the PGA Tour record. The Honda Classic in 2000 also had eight people share the lead after the first 18.
Local favorite Jerry Kelly shot a 4-under-par 66 on Thursday. He was joined in a tie for ninth with fellow Ryder Cup hopeful Scott Verplank, 2002 PGA champion Rich Beem, Paul Azinger, Dan Forsman, Cameron Beckman, Wes Short, Jr., Craig Bowden, Kevin Muncrief and two-time champion Jeff Sluman.
Despite 62 players breaking par on Thursday, Brown Deer Park was not a pushover. The greens are firmer than in years past and the rough is high in some spots.
'Last year I remember the rough being up here, too,' Fischer said. 'But there's some spots here that you might need a Weed Eater to get out.'
Browne opened on the back nine Friday and parred his opening three holes. He sank a 45-foot birdie putt at the 13th, then holed one from 10 feet for birdie at No. 14.
Browne, who has only registered one top-10 in 2004, collected back-to-back birdies from inside 10 feet at 16 and 17. He parred his next nine holes until a birdie at his last brought him into the logjam in first.
Van Pelt and Quigley each tallied seven birdies and two bogeys in their rounds on Thursday.
Fischer, Sheehan and Gamez mixed six birdies with a bogey in the opening round, but Gamez's round was highlighted by some great play from the tall grass.
Gamez missed the green at the par-3 14th, but chipped in for birdie from 30 feet. He also missed the short grass at No. 18 and knocked his second shot into birdie range. Gamez missed the birdie putt that would have given him the lead, but Gamez knows what it takes to win at Brown Deer Park.
'It's a very fair course,' said Gamez, whose last victory on tour came 14 years ago. 'You just have to hit the fairways and get it on the green.'
Defending champion Kenny Perry opened with a 1-under-par 69.
Related Links:
  • Leaderboard - U.S. Bank Championship
  • Full Coverage - U.S. Bank Championship
  • Getty Images

    McCoy earns medalist honors at Web.com Q-School

    By Will GrayDecember 11, 2017, 12:30 am

    One year after his budding career was derailed by a car accident, Lee McCoy got back on track by earning medalist honors at the final stage of Web.com Tour Q-School.

    McCoy shot a final-round 65 at Whirlwind Golf Club in Chandler, Ariz., to finish the 72-hole event at 28 under. That total left him two shots ahead of Sung-Jae Im and guaranteed him fully-exempt status on the developmental circuit in 2018.

    It's an impressive turnaround for the former University of Georgia standout who finished fourth at the 2016 Valspar Championship as an amateur while playing alongside Jordan Spieth in the final round. But he broke his wrist in a car accident the day before second stage of Q-School last year, leaving him without status on any major tour to begin the year.

    McCoy was not the only player who left Arizona smiling. Everyone in the top 10 and ties will be exempt through the first 12 events of the new Web.com Tour season, a group that includes former amateur standouts Curtis Luck (T-3), Sam Burns (T-10) and Maverick McNealy (T-10).

    Players who finished outside the top 10 but inside the top 45 and ties earned exemptions into the first eight events of 2018. That group includes Cameron Champ (T-16), who led the field in driving at this year's U.S. Open as an amateur, and Wyndham Clark (T-23).

    Everyone who advanced to the final stage of Q-School will have at least conditional Web.com Tour status in 2018. Among those who failed to secure guaranteed starts this week were Robby Shelton, Rico Hoey, Jordan Niebrugge, Joaquin Niemann and Kevin Hall.

    Els honored with Heisman Humanitarian Award

    By Golf Channel DigitalDecember 10, 2017, 11:41 pm

    The annual Heisman Trophy award ceremony is one of the biggest moments in any football season, but there was a touching non-football moment as well on Saturday night as Ernie Els received the Heisman Humanitarian Award.

    The award, which had been announced in August, recognized Els' ongoing efforts on behalf of his Els for Autism foundation. Els received the award at Manhattan's PlayStation Theater, where Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield won the Heisman Trophy.

    Els, 47, founded Els for Autism in 2009 with his wife after their son, Ben, was diagnosed with autism. Their efforts have since flourished into a 26-acre campus in Jupiter, Fla., and the creation of the Els Center for Excellence in 2015.

    The Heisman Humanitarian Award has been given out since 2006. Past recipients include NBA center David Robinson, NFL running back Warrick Dunn, soccer star Mia Hamm and NASCAR driver Jeff Gordon.

    A native of South Africa, Els won the U.S. Open in 1994 and 1997 and The Open in 2002 and 2012. He has won 19 times on the PGA Tour and was inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame in 2011.

    Getty Images

    Monday finish for Joburg Open; Sharma leads by 4

    By Golf Channel DigitalDecember 10, 2017, 8:57 pm

    Rain, lightning and hail pushed the Joburg Open to a Monday finish, with India’s Shubhankar Sharma holding a four-stroke lead with 11 holes to play in Johannesburg.

    Play is scheduled to resume at 7:30 a.m. local time.

    South Africa’s Erik van Rooyen will have a 3-foot putt for birdie to move within three shots of Sharma wen play resumes at the Randpark Golf Club. Sarma is at 22 under par.

    Tapio Pulkkanen of Finland and James Morrison of England are tied for third at 14 under. Pulkkanen has 10 holes remaining, Morrison 11.

    The top three finishers who are not already exempt, will get spots in next year’s Open Championship at Carnoustie.



    Stricker, O'Hair team to win QBE Shootout

    By Will GrayDecember 10, 2017, 8:55 pm

    It may not count in the official tally, but Steve Stricker is once again in the winner's circle on the PGA Tour.

    Stricker teamed with Sean O'Hair to win the two-person QBE Shootout, as the duo combined for a better-ball 64 in the final round to finish two shots clear of Graeme McDowell and Shane Lowry. It's the second win in this event for both men; Stricker won with Jerry Kelly back in 2009 while O'Hair lifted the trophy with Kenny Perry in 2012.

    Stricker and O'Hair led wire-to-wire in the 54-hole, unofficial event after posting a 15-under 57 during the opening-round scramble.

    "We just really gelled well together," Stricker said. "With his length the first day, getting some clubs into the greens, some short irons for me, we just fed off that first day quite a bit. We felt comfortable with one another."

    Full-field scores from the QBE Shootout

    Stricker won 12 times during his PGA Tour career, most recently at the 2012 Tournament of Champions. More recently the 50-year-old has been splitting his time on the PGA Tour Champions and captained the U.S. to a victory at the Presidents Cup in October. O'Hair has four official Tour wins, most recently at the 2011 RBC Canadian Open.

    Pat Perez and Brian Harman finished alone in third, four shots behind Stricker and O'Hair. Lexi Thompson and Tony Finau, the lone co-ed pairing in the 12-team event, finished among a tie for fourth.