Maginnes Takes Three Shot Lead Into Final Round

By Sports NetworkMay 5, 2001, 4:00 pm
John Maginnes posted a 5-under 66 on Saturday to grab a three-shot lead after 54 holes of the Buy.Com Carolina Classic. Maginnes' 14-under-par 199 is three better than Ryuji Imada and Phil Tataurangi.
 
Tim O'Neal and Todd Fischer are tied for fourth at 10-under with Deane Pappas, Jim Benepe and Willie Wood another shot back.
 
Maginnes had a one shot-edge over Tataurangi after the second round and got into red figures for the first time with a six-foot birdie putt at the fourth. He followed up with another birdie two holes later after he drained a 30-foot putt.
 
Maginnes jumped ahead of the field at the start of his second nine. He hit a 7-iron off the tee at the 207-yard 11th and played it 40 feet left. Maginnes rolled home that long putt and made an eight-footer for birdie at the next hole.
 
He had an opportunity to go lower when he reached the green in two at the par-5 13th but he could only manage a two-putt birdie. Maginnes had a 12-foot birdie putt at the last hole to build on his lead but missed that and walked off the green in good shape to earn his third win on the Buy.com Tour.
 
'I would like to have that last putt over,' said Maginnes. 'I would like to be at 15-under but I like my position.'
 
Maginnes owns two victories on this circuit, the 1998 Dakota Dunes Open and the 1995 San Jose Open.
 
'It's been a long time and the memory is not quite as good as it used to be,' Maginnes said. 'I was just a kid back then.'
 
Imada had the shot of the day when he aced the par-3 3rd hole with a 5-iron from 197 yards. He parred the next seven holes before he got to 11-under at the 11th hole.
 
'It kind of gave me a little too much energy,' said Imada, who carded a 4-under 67 on Saturday. 'I was trying to calm myself down on the next four or five holes where I should have been making birdies. I don't get to have a hole-in-one too many times, so I was a little bit excited.'
 
Tataurangi came out on fire with four birdies in his first four holes. Two birdies were the result of great wedge play with both putts inside of four feet. The other two came in the form of 15-foot putts.
 
Tataurangi was one behind Maginnes but ran into trouble at No. 16. He hit a 5-iron into a cactus plant and never recovered, taking a double-bogey on the hole. He finished the round with a 3-under 68.
 
Paul Claxton is alone in ninth at 6-under 207 and six other golfers, including last week's winner of the Buy.Com Charity Pro-Am, Jonathan Byrd, are tied for 10th.
 
Full-field scores from the Buy.Com Carolina Classic

Lexi 'applaud's USGA, R&A for rules change

By Randall MellDecember 11, 2017, 5:15 pm

Lexi Thompson’s pain may prove to be the rest of golf’s gain.

David Rickman, the R&A’s executive director of governance, acknowledged on Golf Channel’s "Morning Drive" Monday that the new protocols that will eliminate the use of TV viewer call-ins and emails to apply penalties was hastened by the controversy following Thompson’s four-shot penalty at the ANA Inspiration in early April. The new protocols also set up rules officials to monitor TV broadcasts beginning next year.

“Clearly, that case has been something of a focus point for us,” Rickman said.

Thompson reacted to the new protocols in an Instagram post.

“I applaud the USGA and the R&A for their willingness to revise the Rules of Golf to address certain unfortunate situations that have arisen several times in the game of golf,” Thompson wrote. “In my case, I am thankful no one else will have to deal with an outcome such as mine in the future.”

Thompson was penalized two shots for improperly returning her ball to its mark on a green during Saturday’s round after a viewer emailed LPGA officials during Sunday’s broadcast. She was penalized two more shots for signing an incorrect scorecard for her Saturday round. Thompson ultimately lost in a playoff to So Yeon Ryu.

The new protocols will also eliminate the additional two-shot penalty a player receives for failing to include a penalty when a player was unaware of the penalty.

Shortly after the ANA Inspiration, the USGA and R&A led the formation of a video review working group, which included the PGA Tour, LPGA, European Tour, Ladies European Tour and PGA of America.

Also, just three weeks after Thompson was hit with the four-shot penalty, the USGA and R&A released a new Rules of Golf decision decision (34-3/10) limiting video evidence in two ways:

1. If an infraction can’t be seen with the naked eye, there’s no penalty, even if video shows otherwise.

2. If a tournament committee determines that a player does “all that can be reasonably expected to make an accurate estimation or measurement” in determining a line or position to play from or to spot a ball, then there will be no penalty even if video replay later shows that to be wrong.

While the USGA and R&A said the new decision wasn’t based on Thompson’s ANA incident, LPGA players immediately began calling it the “Lexi Rule.”

Getty Images

PGA Tour, LPGA react to video review rules changes

By Golf Channel DigitalDecember 11, 2017, 1:32 pm

The USGA and R&A announced on Monday updates to the Rules of Golf, including no longer accepting call-ins relating to violations. The PGA Tour and LPGA, which were both part of a working group of entities who voted on the changes, issued the following statements:

PGA Tour:

The PGA Tour has worked closely with the USGA and R&A on this issue in recent years, and today's announcement is another positive step to ensure the Rules of Golf align with how the game is presented and viewed globally. The PGA Tour will adopt the new Local Rule beginning January 1, 2018 and evolve our protocols for reviewing video evidence as outlined.

LPGA:

We are encouraged by the willingness of the governing bodies to fully vet the issues and implement real change at a pace much quicker than the sport has seen previously. These new adaptations, coupled with changes announced earlier this year, are true and meaningful advances for the game. The LPGA plans to adopt fully the protocols and new Local Rule as outlined.

Getty Images

Sharma closes on Monday, wins Joburg Open

By Associated PressDecember 11, 2017, 12:43 pm

JOHANNESBURG – Shubhankar Sharma won his first European Tour title by a shooting 3-under 69 Monday in the final round of the weather-delayed Joburg Open.

The 21-year-old Indian resumed his round on the eighth green after play was halted early Sunday afternoon because of storms. He parred that hole, birdied No. 9 and made par on every hole on the back nine.


Full-field scores from the Joburg Open


Sharma finished at 23-under 264, three strokes ahead of the pack, and qualified for next year's British Open, too.

''I actually wasn't going to come here about a week ago ... so I'm really happy that I came,'' said Sharma, who shot 61 in the second round. ''I don't think I'm ever going forget my first time in South Africa.''

Erik van Rooyen (66) was second, three strokes ahead of Shaun Norris (65) and Tapio Pulkkanen (68).

Getty Images

Newsmakers of the Year: Top 10 in 2017

By Golf Channel DigitalDecember 11, 2017, 12:30 pm