Trio Share Top Spot in Oregon

By Sports NetworkSeptember 30, 2005, 4:00 pm
JUNCTION CITY, Ore. -- First-round co-leader Tim Wilkinson remains among the leaders Friday after the second round of the Oregon Classic. He shot a 3-under 69 at Shadow Hills Country Club and joined Esteban Toledo and Jeff Gove at 10-under-par 134.
Toledo, a former member of the PGA Tour, fired a 6-under 66 and Gove posted a 4-under 68 in windy conditions.
Jon Mills and Kris Cox both shot rounds of 3-under 69 and are knotted in fourth place at minus-9.
Wilkinson opened on the back nine Friday and parred his first eight holes before a birdie at the par-5 18th. He added another birdie at the third, then made back-to-back par saves at six and seven, from six and 12 feet, respectively.
Wilkinson joined the leaders with a 6-foot birdie putt at the par-5 ninth.
'I played pretty well considering conditions,' said Wilkinson. 'It's nice to be 10-under. I didn't put myself in those positions, but the closer you are to the lead, the better the chances.'
Toledo, who won this year's Lake Erie Charity Classic at Peek 'n Peak Resort, rolled in a pair of 10-foot birdie putts at 10 and 11, his first two holes on Friday.
He tallied three more birdies on his opening nine, then birdied the fifth to reach 10-under par for the tournament. Toledo missed a 10-footer to save par at the sixth, but birdied No. 9 to share the lead.
'I really like the course,' said Toledo, who reunited with the same caddie that was on the bag when Toledo won earlier this season. 'I feel good for tomorrow.'
Gove had an up-and-down round with four birdies, two bogeys and a double-bogey at the 11th. He caught fire at the end of his round and that's how he moved up the leaderboard.
He two-putted from 30 feet out for a birdie at 15, and hit a 4-iron to a foot to set up a birdie at No. 16. Gove knocked a 7-iron to 10 feet for a birdie at 17 and closed with his fourth consecutive birdie from 2 feet at 18.
'That's good stuff,' said Gove, who finished second to Toledo at Lake Erie. 'I feel pretty good. A couple shots got away from me, but I don't want to force it too much.'
Ryan Hietala fired a 5-under 67 on Friday and is alone in sixth place at minus-8.
Charley Hoffman (70), Jamie Broce (65), Camilo Villegas (67) and Jeremy Anderson (65) share seventh place at 7-under-par 137.
David Morland IV, who shared the lead with Wilkinson Thursday, struggled to a 1-over 73 and is alone in 11th place at minus-6.
Defending champion Jeff Quinney made the cut on the number at even-par 144.
Related links:
  • Leaderboard - Oregon Classic
  • Full Coverage - Oregon Classic
  • Getty Images

    McCoy earns medalist honors at Q-School

    By Will GrayDecember 11, 2017, 12:30 am

    One year after his budding career was derailed by a car accident, Lee McCoy got back on track by earning medalist honors at the final stage of Tour Q-School.

    McCoy shot a final-round 65 at Whirlwind Golf Club in Chandler, Ariz., to finish the 72-hole event at 28 under. That total left him two shots ahead of Sung-Jae Im and guaranteed him fully-exempt status on the developmental circuit in 2018.

    It's an impressive turnaround for the former University of Georgia standout who finished fourth at the 2016 Valspar Championship as an amateur while playing alongside Jordan Spieth in the final round. But he broke his wrist in a car accident the day before second stage of Q-School last year, leaving him without status on any major tour to begin the year.

    McCoy was not the only player who left Arizona smiling. Everyone in the top 10 and ties will be exempt through the first 12 events of the new Tour season, a group that includes former amateur standouts Curtis Luck (T-3), Sam Burns (T-10) and Maverick McNealy (T-10).

    Players who finished outside the top 10 but inside the top 45 and ties earned exemptions into the first eight events of 2018. That group includes Cameron Champ (T-16), who led the field in driving at this year's U.S. Open as an amateur, and Wyndham Clark (T-23).

    Everyone who advanced to the final stage of Q-School will have at least conditional Tour status in 2018. Among those who failed to secure guaranteed starts this week were Robby Shelton, Rico Hoey, Jordan Niebrugge, Joaquin Niemann and Kevin Hall.

    Els honored with Heisman Humanitarian Award

    By Golf Channel DigitalDecember 10, 2017, 11:41 pm

    The annual Heisman Trophy award ceremony is one of the biggest moments in any football season, but there was a touching non-football moment as well on Saturday night as Ernie Els received the Heisman Humanitarian Award.

    The award, which had been announced in August, recognized Els' ongoing efforts on behalf of his Els for Autism foundation. Els received the award at Manhattan's PlayStation Theater, where Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield won the Heisman Trophy.

    Els, 47, founded Els for Autism in 2009 with his wife after their son, Ben, was diagnosed with autism. Their efforts have since flourished into a 26-acre campus in Jupiter, Fla., and the creation of the Els Center for Excellence in 2015.

    The Heisman Humanitarian Award has been given out since 2006. Past recipients include NBA center David Robinson, NFL running back Warrick Dunn, soccer star Mia Hamm and NASCAR driver Jeff Gordon.

    A native of South Africa, Els won the U.S. Open in 1994 and 1997 and The Open in 2002 and 2012. He has won 19 times on the PGA Tour and was inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame in 2011.

    Getty Images

    Monday finish for Joburg Open; Sharma leads by 4

    By Golf Channel DigitalDecember 10, 2017, 8:57 pm

    Rain, lightning and hail pushed the Joburg Open to a Monday finish, with India’s Shubhankar Sharma holding a four-stroke lead with 11 holes to play in Johannesburg.

    Play is scheduled to resume at 7:30 a.m. local time.

    South Africa’s Erik van Rooyen will have a 3-foot putt for birdie to move within three shots of Sharma wen play resumes at the Randpark Golf Club. Sarma is at 22 under par.

    Tapio Pulkkanen of Finland and James Morrison of England are tied for third at 14 under. Pulkkanen has 10 holes remaining, Morrison 11.

    The top three finishers who are not already exempt, will get spots in next year’s Open Championship at Carnoustie.



    Stricker, O'Hair team to win QBE Shootout

    By Will GrayDecember 10, 2017, 8:55 pm

    It may not count in the official tally, but Steve Stricker is once again in the winner's circle on the PGA Tour.

    Stricker teamed with Sean O'Hair to win the two-person QBE Shootout, as the duo combined for a better-ball 64 in the final round to finish two shots clear of Graeme McDowell and Shane Lowry. It's the second win in this event for both men; Stricker won with Jerry Kelly back in 2009 while O'Hair lifted the trophy with Kenny Perry in 2012.

    Stricker and O'Hair led wire-to-wire in the 54-hole, unofficial event after posting a 15-under 57 during the opening-round scramble.

    "We just really gelled well together," Stricker said. "With his length the first day, getting some clubs into the greens, some short irons for me, we just fed off that first day quite a bit. We felt comfortable with one another."

    Full-field scores from the QBE Shootout

    Stricker won 12 times during his PGA Tour career, most recently at the 2012 Tournament of Champions. More recently the 50-year-old has been splitting his time on the PGA Tour Champions and captained the U.S. to a victory at the Presidents Cup in October. O'Hair has four official Tour wins, most recently at the 2011 RBC Canadian Open.

    Pat Perez and Brian Harman finished alone in third, four shots behind Stricker and O'Hair. Lexi Thompson and Tony Finau, the lone co-ed pairing in the 12-team event, finished among a tie for fourth.