Annika Again Receives European Golf Writers Trophy


LONDON -- Annika Sorenstam has won the European Golf Writers' Trophy for the second time in three years, becoming the first woman to claim the award more than once.

The Swede edged Michael Campbell and Colin Montgomerie to win the 55-year-old trophy. Voting totals were not revealed.

'I was overwhelmed to hear that the Golf Writers have honored me again,' Sorenstam said Tuesday. 'It never occurred to me that I might win it twice.

The 35-year-old Sorenstam won 11 of 21 tournaments this season, including two majors. She won 10 events on the LPGA Tour, earned the money title for the fifth straight year and claimed her eighth Player of the Year award.

In September, Sorenstam became the highest points scorer in the history of the Solheim Cup, and last weekend captained an international team to victory over Asia in the Lexus Cup.

Campbell, who won the U.S. Open, was voted the European Tour's Player of the Year last week. He was disappointed not to win the writers' award, but happy for Sorenstam.

'To win over 50 percent of the tournaments you enter in a season is a remarkable achievement,' Campbell said.
Montgomerie finished second to Tiger Woods at the British Open and won his eighth Order of Merit title as Europe's top money winner.
The Golf Writers' Trophy is awarded to a European-born or European-based player or team that has made the most outstanding contribution to golf in the preceding 12 months.
Tony Jacklin, Peter Oosterhuis, Seve Ballesteros, Sandy Lyle, Nick Faldo, Bernhard Langer and Lee Westwood also won the award more than once.

Copyright 2005 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.