Clampett Fails to Qualify for US Open

RSS

Television analyst Bobby Clampett failed to qualify for the U.S. Open on Wednesday when he was given a 2-stroke penalty for being late to his tee time.
 
A former PGA Tour player, Clampett appealed the ruling that forced him to a four-man playoff for the final two spots out of local qualifying at River Landing. He expects to hear Thursday from the USGA.
 
Clampett was eliminated from the playoff when he made double bogey on the second hole.
 
Earlier, starter Barry Bruggers announced Clampett's threesome on time at 1:42 p.m., and ruled that Clampett was not there, although Clampett insisted he was only about 25 yards away from the tee.
 
'I don't think that that is the proper interpretation of the rule,' Clampett said. 'I did not know that rule, I did not know it was that cut and dry.'
 
Tournament officials huddled with Clampett for about 40 minutes when he completed his round before deciding he deserved the penalty.
 
'He actually got there before anyone pulled the trigger,' said Ray Novicki, tournament director and assistant director of the Carolinas Golf Association. 'That's his contention, that he was on time. But he wasn't.'
 
Former U.S. Amateur champ Nick Flanagan of Australia had the low round of the day with a 64, followed by Ryan Gioffre with a 65.
 
Related Links:
  • Full Coverage - U.S. Open
     
    Copyright 2005 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.