Levet Cleared of Infraction

RSS

TROON, Scotland -- Thomas Levet escaped a two-shot penalty Friday in the British Open when marshals moved railings along the first fairway without authorization.
 
Levet, a co-leader after the first round, hooked his opening tee shot next to an ice cream stand, and referee Andy Yamanaki of the Japanese tour gave him relief. Levet was still blocked by two sets of railings to keep the gallery from the fairway, and those railings are deemed immovable obstructions.
 
Yamanaki went to help Matthew Goggin, who needed a separate ruling. While he was away, marshals took down the railings that had been in Levet's line.
 
'That wasn't known both by Levet and the referee,' said Royal & Ancient rules secretary David Rickman. 'It was agreed it was a misunderstanding and there will be no penalty.'
 
Levet would have been penalized if he had been involved in moving the railing.
 
Related Links:
  • Leaderboard - 133rd Open Championship
  • TV Airtimes

  • British Open Photo Gallery

  • Full Coverage - 133rd Open Championship
     
    Copyright 2003 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.