Lorena Ochoa edged out for female Athlete of the Year award


LPGA Tour _newLorena Ochoa didn't place second to anyone in her impressive 2008 season, but on Tuesday she finished one vote shy of becoming only the fourth three-time winner of the Associated Press female athlete of the year honor.
Instead, the WNBA's MVP and rookie of the year Los Angeles Sparks' Candace Parker garnered the title, edging out the Mexican golfer who won the previous two years. Parker also led the Tennessee women's Basketball team to a second straight national championship and helped the U.S. win a fourth-straight Olympic gold medal.
Parker's selection ended an unprecedented five-year run in which a golfer (Annika Sorenstam, then Lorena Ochoa) won the award. Ochoa won seven times on the LPGA Tour, including her second major at the Kraft Nabisco Championship, and led the money list for the third consecutive season.
Earlier this year, Ochoa was named the Rolex Player of the Year by the LPGA and also given the Vare Trophy for lowest scoring average on the season. The 2003 Rookie of the Year has recently dominated the LPGA annual awards, sweeping both the last three years.
Related Links:
  • More LPGA News