Open Field and Qualifications


Open ChampionshipSOUTHPORT, England -- The 156-man field for the British Open, to be played July 17-20 at Royal Birkdale. Players listed only in the first category for which they were eligible. Final two spots to be determined Sunday:
Top 10 players and ties from the 2007 British Open: Padraig Harrington, Sergio Garcia, Andres Romero, Richard Green, Ernie Els, Hunter Mahan, Stewart Cink, Ben Curtis, Mike Weir, K.J. Choi, Steve Stricker.
British Open champions 65 or younger: Todd Hamilton, David Duval, Paul Lawrie, Mark OMeara, Justin Leonard, Tom Lehman, John Daly, Greg Norman, Nick Faldo, Mark Calcavecchia, Sandy Lyle, Tom Watson.
Top 20 players from the 2007 European Tour Order of Merit: Justin Rose, Henrik Stenson, Niclas Fasth, Angel Cabrera, Soren Hansen, Retief Goosen, Lee Westwood, Nick Dougherty, Colin Montgomerie, Paul Casey, Richard Sterne, Graeme Storm, Soren Kjeldsen, Anders Hansen, Gregory Havret, Peter Hanson.
BMW PGA Champions (3 years): Miguel Angel Jimenez, David Howell.
Top 50 in the world ranking published May 26: Woody Austin, Jim Furyk, Sean OHair, Rory Sabbatini, Martin Kaymer, Robert Allenby, Anthony Kim, Aaron Baddeley, Stuart Appleby, Vijay Singh, Phil Mickelson, Scott Verplank, Geoff Ogilvy, Zach Johnson, Pat Perez (1st alternate replacing Luke Donald), Boo Weekley, Stephen Ames, Robert Karlsson, Tim Clark, Adam Scott, Trevor Immelman, Ian Poulter, Brandt Snedeker, Oliver Wilson, J.B. Holmes, Toru Taniguchi, Rod Pampling, Jeff Quinney.
Top three players, not otherwise exempt, from the top 20 on the European Tour money list through May 25: Graeme McDowell, Damian McGrane, Richard Finch.
Top two European Tour members (including ties), not otherwise exempt, in a cumulative money list from the BMW Asian Open through the French Open: Pablo Larrazabal, Scott Strange.
The leading player among the first five and ties, not already exempt, from the European Open and Barclays Scottish Open. Ties will be decided by the better score from the final round, third round and second round, then a scorecard starting on No. 18 in the final round: David Frost, TBD.
U.S. Open champions (last five years): Michael Campbell.
Top 20 from the money list on the 2007 PGA Tour: Charles Howell III.
Top three players and ties, not already exempt, from the PGA Tour money list through Colonial: Ryuji Imada, Bart Bryant.
Top two PGA TOUR members (including ties), not already exempt, in a cumulative money list from THE PLAYERS Championship through the AT&T National: Rocco Mediate.
The leading player among the first five and ties, not already exempt, from the AT&T National and the John Deere Classic. Ties will be decided by the better score from the final round, third round, second round, then a scorecard starting on No. 18 in the final round: Fredrik Jacobson, TBD.
Members of the last Presidents Cup team: Lucas Glover, David Toms, Nick OHern.
Top player from the 2007 Asian Tour Order of Merit: Wen-chong Liang.
Top two players from the 2007 Australasian Tour Order of Merit: Craig Parry, David Smail.
Top player from the 2007 Sunshine Tour Order of Merit: James Kingston.
Top two players from 2007 money list on the Japan Golf Tour: Brendan Jones, Hideto Tanihara.
The leading four players, not already exempt, in the 2008 Mizuno Open Yomiuri Classic: Prayad Marksaeng, Michio Matsumura, Azuma Yano, Yoshinobu Tsukada.
Top two players, not already exempt, in a cumulative money list on the Japan Golf Tour from the Japan PGA Championship through the Mizuno Open Yomiuri Classic: Shintaro Kai, Hiroshi Iwata.
British Amateur champion: a-Reinier Saxton.
European Amateur champion: a-Benjamin Hebert.
International qualifying in Africa: Joshua Cunliffe, Darren Fichardt, Douglas McGuigan, Hennie Otto.
International qualifying in Australasia: Andrew Tampion, Peter Fowler, Bradley Lamb, Ewan Porter.
International qualifying in Asia: Danny Chia, Adam Blyth, Chih Bing Lam, Angelo Que.
International qualifying in America: Scott McCarron, Craig Barlow, Rich Beem, Matt Kuchar, Michael Letzig, Davis Love III, Alex Cejka, Kevin Stadler, Tom Gillis, Doug LaBelle, Tim Petrovic, Paul Goydos, Jeff Overton, John Rollins.
International qualifying in Europe: Martin Wiegele, Johan Edfors, Alexander Noren, Simon Wakefield, Steve Webster, Jose-Filipe Lima, Simon Dyson, Pelle Edberg, Jean Battiste Gonnet, David Horsey, Paul Waring, Ariel Canete, Gregory Bourdy, Anthony Wall, Philip Archer, Peter Baker, Ross Fisher, Thomas Aiken.
Local qualifying: Jamie Elson, a-Chris Wood, a-Rohan Blizard, Jean Van de Velde, a-Thomas Sherreard, Jon Bevan, Jamie Howarth, Philip Walton, Barry Hume, Jonathan Lomas.
Alternate: x-Camilo Villegas.
x-Villegas was first alternate when Kenny Perry declined his spot from the special PGA TOUR money list through AT&T National.
Related Links:
  • Full Coverage - Open Championship
  • GOLF CHANNEL Airtimes