Past Champs Returning to Canadian Open


Canadian OpenOAKVILLE, Ontario -- Nine of the last 11 winners of the Canadian Open will be back competing in this year's event.
Defending champion Jim Furyk, 2005 winner Mark Calcavecchia and 2004 champion Vijay Singh will all be at Anglus Glen in Markham, Ontario, for the July 26-29 tournament, the Royal Canadian Golf Association announced Tuesday.
Other past winners who intend to play are: Bob Tway (2003), John Rollins (2002), Scott Verplank (2001), Billy Andrade (1998), Steve Jones (1997) and Dudley Hart (1996).
Canadians Mike Weir and Stephen Ames will also play, and fan favorite John Daly said last month the event was on his calendar as well.
The Canadian Open is being played one week after the British Open and is part of a four-week stretch that includes two majors and a world golf championship.
Related Links:
  • Full Coverage - Canadian Open
    Copyright 2007 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.