Tiger earns 11th consecutive Mark H McCormack Award


Arnold Palmer InvitationalORLANDO, Fla. ' The Governing Board of the Official World Golf Ranking announced Wednesday that Tiger Woods has been named the recipient of the 2008 Mark H. McCormack Award.
The award, which has been won by Woods every year since its inception in 1998, is presented annually to the player who holds the No. 1 position on the Official World Golf Ranking for the greatest number of weeks in each calendar year.
Despite undergoing season-ending knee surgery on June 24, Woods held the top position on the Official World Golf Ranking for the entire 2008 calendar year. He ended his 2008 campaign, highlighted by his U.S. Open victory at Torrey Pines, with 198 consecutive weeks at No. 1.
Tiger is to be commended for earning the McCormack Award the 11th consecutive year, said PGA Tour Commissioner Tim Finchem. This award is a direct reflection of the tireless work ethic he has displayed to remain the worlds top-ranked player for such an extended period of time.
Tiger facts regarding the Official World Golf Ranking:
  • Currently 198 consecutive weeks at No. 1 as of March 16, 2009, which is still short of his own record of 264 consecutive weeks from August 1999 to August 2004.
  • Achieved world top-10 status in a record 33 weeks after turning professional and has remained in the top 10 since then for 624 successive weeks.
  • Reached the world No.1 position at the record youngest age of 21 years and 24 weeks in a record 42 weeks after turning professional.
  • No. 1 for a record 540 weeks during his career. Greg Norman is second with a total of 331 weeks at No. 1 between 1986 and 1998.
    Related Links:
  • Full Coverage - Arnold Palmer Invitational
  • Golf Channel Airtimes