Woods Wins Seventh PGA POY in Nine Years


PGA of AmericaJACKSONVILLE, Florida -- With seven weeks left in the season, Tiger Woods clinched the PGA Player of the Year, a points-based award handed out by the PGA of America since 1948.
It was the seventh time in nine years Woods has won the award. Tom Watson won it six times during an eight-year span.
The PGA Player of the Year award gives 30 points for majors, 20 points for The Players Championship and 10 points for all other U.S. PGA Tour victories. It also awards as many as 20 points depending on where a player finishes on the money list and in scoring average.
Woods cannot be caught because he won two majors, which carries a 50-point bonus.
The only other players to win the award since Woods' first full season in 1997 were Mark O'Meara, a double major winner in 1998; and Vijay Singh, who won the U.S. PGA Championship and eight other tournaments last year.
The U.S. PGA Tour's award is a vote of the players and will be decided after the Tour Championship in November.
Copyright 2005 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.