Ryder Cup Timeline


Ryder CupFrom the early dominance of America over Great Britain to the struggles the American teams have recently had against Europe, the Ryder Cup has been one of the greatest events in golf for the past 80 years. Heres a look at some of the most significant moments in Ryder Cup history:

1927: The first Ryder Cup occurs at Worcester Country Club in Massachusetts as Walter Hagen captains the American team to a dominating 9 to 2 victory over Ted Rays Great Britain team.
1933: Great Britain wins its second Ryder Cup by the narrow margin of 6 to 5 . J. H. Taylor is able to hoist the Cup during his first and only appearance as Great Britains captain.
1947: Upon the completion of World War II, the Ryder Cup is held for the first time in a decade as the U.S. dominates Great Britain, 11-1, during one of the most lopsided victories in Cup history.
1957: Great Britain captures its third Ryder Cup by defeating the United States, 7 to 4 , in Yorkshire, England.
1963: With Arnold Palmer as playing-captain, the United States has its most dominating performance, with a 23-9 victory over Great Britain at Atlanta Athletic Club.
1969: In one of the most memorable moments of sportsmanship, Jack Nicklaus concedes a 2-footer to Tony Jacklin on the 18th green of the final singles match. The match is halved and both teams tied for the first time in Ryder Cup history. After conceding the putt, Nicklaus says, I dont think you would have missed that putt, but in these circumstances, I would never give you the opportunity.
1973: Ireland joins Great Britain for the first time in the competition. The result is not any different, though, as the United States defeats Great Britain & Ireland, 19 to 13.
1979: For the first time, golfers from continental Europe, such as Spains Seve Ballesteros, compete in the Ryder Cup. The United States defeats Team Europe 17 to 11.
1985: After years of disappointment, Europe defeats the United States, 16 to 11 , at The Belfry in Warwickshire, England. This begins a turnaround for Europe over the next two decades.
1987: For the first time, the European team won on American soil, defeating the Yanks, 15 to 13, at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio. The loss was especially deflating to U.S. captain Jack Nicklaus, who hosts his Memorial Tournament on this course.
1989: The competition finishes in a tie as Europe retains the Cup for the third consecutive competition to end the decade in dominance.
1991: During the highly publicized War on the Shore matches on the Ocean Course at Kiawah Island Golf Resort in South Carolina, tensions between each team are at an all-time high. Germanys Bernard Langer has a chance to retain the Cup for Europe on the 18th green during the final singles match but misses his 6-foot putt. The United States wins the competition, 14 to 13 , to capture the Cup for the first time since 1983.
1995: Europe retains the Cup with a 14 to 13 victory over the United States as Nick Faldo defeats Curtis Strange on the final hole during one of the last singles matches. Strange, a controversial captains pick, is the leader for most of the match, but loses the final two holes.
1999: In the largest come-from-behind victory in Ryder Cup history, the United States defeats Europe, 14 to 13 . Before Sundays singles, Europe held a 10-6 lead over the United States. However, the U.S. team wins the first seven matches of the day. The United States captures the Cup as Justin Leonard holes a 45-foot putt to halve his match against Jose Maria Olazabal on the 17th hole. Following Leonards unbelievable putt, many members of the United States run out on the green to celebrate before Olazabal putts in attempt to tie Leonard to carry the match to the 18th hole. The premature celebration is highly criticized.
2002: After the cancellation of the 2001 Ryder Cup due to the terrorist attacks of Sept. 11, Europe defeats the United States, 15 to 12 , at The Belfry.
2006: For the second consecutive time, Europe defeats United States in dominating fashion, 18 to 9 , at The K Club in Ireland. The event is very emotional for Irishman Darren Clarke as he wins all three of his matches, just months after losing his wife to cancer.
2008: This year the Ryder Cup will be held at Valhalla Golf Club in Louisville, Ky., as Paul Azinger will captain the United States and Nick Faldo will captain Europe. The U.S. is searching for its first victory since 1999.
Related Links:
  • U.S. Team and Records
  • European Team and Records
  • Full Coverage - 37th Ryder Cup