Alabama wins second straight NCAA men's title


The Alabama Crimson Tide are once again kings of college golf.

Alabama's Trey Mullinax holed an eagle putt on the 17th hole to close out a 2-and-1 win over Ian Davis and clinch a 4-1 team victory over Oklahoma State in the finals of the men's Division I NCAA Championship. The Tide, who defeated Illinois in the team final last year, join Augusta State (2010-11) as the only squads to win back-to-back titles since 1986.

"This year has been a lot different. We felt that target, and by the end of the year it kind of weighed on us," said Alabama head coach Jay Seawell. "At a small tournament in Nashville, the Mason-Rudolph, on the back nine of the second round, it kind of clicked and we became the Crimson Tide again."

Bobby Wyatt got things started early for Alabama with a hole-in-one on the par-3 second hole. The ace squared his match with Talor Gooch, and Wyatt went on to defeat Gooch, 3 and 2, to get the Tide's first point of the day.

Freshman Robby Shelton came through in the clutch for Alabama, holing a 15-foot birdie putt on the 18th hole to edge Oklahoma State's Zachary Olsen, 1 up. Wyndham Clark got the Cowboys on the board with a win over Tom Lovelady, 3 and 1, before Mullinax clinched the title.

"Me and Coach Seawell were mostly just worried about speed...we were just trying to lag it down there," Mullinax said of his title-clinching putt. "For it to go in was something special."

In the anchor match, Cory Whitsett defeated Oklahoma State's Jordan Niebrugge, 2 and 1.

This was Alabama's third straight trip to the NCAA finals, having lost to Texas in 2012.

"Oklahoma State is a great team," Seawell said. "They played really, really great.  But these guys did what they needed to, and I'm very proud of that, and I am proud of the legacy they will have at the university and also in college golf."