DI Championships Cabinet approves new NCAA format


The DI Championships Cabinet approved a change to the men's and women's championships, replacing the individuals-only day on Monday with the top 15 teams and nine individuals not on one of the advancing teams.

As Golfchannel.com's Ryan Lavner detailed last month, Monday will serve as the final day of qualifying for team match play, as 15 teams will be reduced to eight, also known as the "Race to the Eight." An individual champion will also be crowned on Monday.

For the first time, Golf Channel will broadcast both the women’s (May 22-27) and men’s (May 29-June 3) championships in 2015 when they are both held at The Concession Golf Club in Bradenton, Fla.

Here's the full schedule of the NCAA championships:

Wednesday: Teams arrive

Thursday: Official practice round

Friday: First day of stroke-play qualifying (18 holes)

Saturday: Second day of stroke-play qualifying (18 holes)

Sunday: Third day of stroke-play qualifying, with a cut to the low 15 teams and low nine individuals on a non-advancing team (18 holes)

Monday: Final day of stroke-play qualifying to determine the 72-hole individual champion and low eight teams for the match-play bracket

Tuesday: Quarterfinals and semifinals of team play

Wednesday: Championship match to determine team champion