Match-play bracket set for NCAA Championships


HUTCHINSON, Kan. – Now comes the unpredictable part – match play at the NCAA Championship.

Stanford won the stroke-play qualifier at 13-under 827, finishing nine shots ahead of Alabama and LSU. The top-ranked Crimson Tide won the tiebreaker for the No. 2 seed because their fifth man had a lower cumulative score.

Oklahoma State finished fourth at even par, while Georgia Tech was fifth at 1 over.

UCLA (4 over), SMU (5 over) and 2013 NCAA finalist Illinois (5 over) rounded out the top 8.

Three top-10 teams failed to advance to the match-play bracket – No. 4 Cal (10 over), No. 6 Georgia (10 over) and No. 8 Washington (13 over).

Teams are seeded in match play based on their finish in the three-round qualifier, not their national ranking. As a result, No. 2-ranked Oklahoma State will square off against No. 4 Georgia Tech in the quarterfinals, while LSU and UCLA – two teams ranked outside the top 10 nationally – also will go head-to-head.

It's worth noting that since match play was implemented in 2009, no team stroke-play medalist has ever gone on to win the national title. 

Here are the quarterfinal matches slated for Tuesday morning (the semifinals will begin at 2 p.m. ET Tuesday):

8 a.m. ET:

Match 1: Alabama (2) vs. SMU (7)

Bobby Wyatt vs. Austin Smotherman

Robby Shelton vs. Andrew Buchanan

Tom Lovelady vs. Harry Higgs

Trey Mullinax vs. Bryson Dechambeau

Cory Whitsett vs. Ryan Burgess

Match 2: LSU (3) vs. UCLA (6)

Curtis Thompson vs. Preston Valder

Benjamin Taylor vs. Anton Arboleda

Smylie Kaufman vs. Jonathan Garrick

Stewart Jolly vs. Lorens Chan

Zach Wright vs. Matt Pinizzotto

8:50 a.m. ET:

Match 3: Stanford (1) vs. Illinois (8)

David Boote vs. Thomas Detry

Viraat Badhwar vs. Charlie Danielson

Maverick McNealy vs. Brian Campbell

Patrick Rodgers vs. Jonathan Hauter

Cameron Wilson vs. Alex Burge

Match 4: Oklahoma State (4) vs. Georgia Tech (5)

Talor Gooch vs. Richy Werenski

Zachary Olsen vs. Bo Andrews

Wyndham Clark vs. Anders Albertson

Ian Davis vs. Ollie Schniederjans

Jordan Niebrugge vs. Seth Reeves


2 p.m. ET:

Winner of match No. 1 vs. winner of match No. 2

2:45 p.m. ET:

Winner of match No. 3 vs. winner of match No. 4