McCoy, Garrick headline field for Riviera shootout


Fourteen of the best college golfers in the country will compete in an 18-hole shootout Monday at Riviera that will award an exemption into the Northern Trust Open.

Each collegian will team up with a PGA Tour player and two amateurs who represent their respective university in the inaugural Collegiate Showcase. The college player with the lowest 18-hole score will receive a spot in the Northern Trust Open three days later. The pro and two amateurs, meanwhile, will compete for a $50,000 donation to their alma mater. 

Here is the field:

Wake Forest: Will Zalatoris (pro Bill Haas)

Kentucky: Chip McDaniel (pro J.B. Holmes)

Texas A&M: Greg Yates (pro Ryan Palmer

Clemson: Cody Proveaux (pro Ben Martin)

UCLA: Jonathan Garrick (pro Kevin Chappell

Pacific: Byron Meth (pro James Field Jr.) 

UC-Riverside: David Gazzolo (pro Brendan Steele

Pepperdine: Kevin DeHuff (pro Michael Putnam)

USC: Rico Hoey (pro Dave Stockton Jr.) 

Georgia: Lee McCoy (pro Harris English) 

Oregon: Brandon McGiver (pro Casey Martin) 

Texas: Kramer Hickok (pro Jordan Spieth)

Oklahoma State: TBD (pro Morgan Hoffmann)