Par-3 Contest Four Decades Old


The par-3 contest, a tradition at the Masters since 1960, will once again be held Wednesday during Masters week. And as the tradition continues, a Masters champion has never won the par-3 contest the same year he won his green jacket.
The par-3 course at Augusta National was built in 1958 by architect George Cobb and Clifford Roberts. The nine-hole course plays to 1,060 yards, the longest hole being 140 yards and the shortest 70 yards. The course crosses over two ponds, Ikes Pond and DeSoto Springs Pond.
Included in the invitee list are tournament participants, non-competing past champions and honorary invitees. Many others have been invited to caddy for the participants. Much hilarity occurs at the par-3, such as Fuzzy Zoeller, John Mahaffey and Hubert Green for many years teeing off simultaneously at each hole.
Sam Snead won the original contest in 1960. Chris Perry captured the 2000 contest. Four players have won the event twice, Snead, Isao Aoki, Jay Haas and Sandy Lyle.
Art Wall and Gay Brewer are tied for the low score, 20 (7-under.) The largest margin of victory was Wall in 65 at three strokes. Snead won when he was 61 years old, the eldest winner. The oldest participant has been Paul Runyon, who was 91 when he played last year.
Gary Player has the most aces at three. The most by the field in one tournament is four in 1996 (Haas, Lyle, Mark Roe and Ian Baker-Finch), and 1997 (Mark McNulty, Ben Crenshaw, Loren Roberts and Bob Tway.)
While no Masters champion has won the par-3 the same year, twice the winners have finished second in the contest ' Raymond Floyd in 1990 and Chip Beck in 1993.
Full Coverage of the 2001 Masters Tournament