Aguilar slammed with four-shot penalty in Turkey

RSS

Paging Ian Woosnam.

Chile's Felipe Aguilar was assessed a four-shot penalty Saturday at the Turkish Airlines Open thanks to an overnight club switch. Round 2 was suspended Friday in Turkey thanks to inclement weather, and when play resumed Saturday morning, Aguilar was found in violation of Rule 4-4 for having replaced a club in his bag mid-round.

"The player must not start a stipulated round with more than 14 clubs," read a statement from the European Tour. "He is limited to the clubs thus selected for that round except that if he started with fewer than 14 clubs, he may add any number provided his total number does not exceed 14.

"The addition of a club or clubs must not unduly delay play and the player must not add or borrow any club selected for play by any other person on the course by assembling components carried by or for the player during the stipulated round."

The four-shot penalty is the maximum for violating Rule 4-4, with two shots being added on each of the first two holes played with the new club.

Woosnam, of course, was famously hit with a two-shot penalty while leading the final round of the 2001 British Open for having one club too many. He would ultimately lose to David Duval.

Aguilar's second-round 70 turned into a 74.