BMW Championship venues announced through 2019


With another edition of the tournament set to begin next week, the BMW Championship has announced its rotation of host sites through 2019.

Next week's event will take place at Conway Farms Golf Club in Lake Forest, Ill., which first hosted in 2013. Conway Farms will again host in 2017, while next year the scene shifts to Crooked Stick Golf Club in Carmel, Ind., which hosted when Rory McIlroy won in 2012.

The event will move east in 2018 to Aronimink Golf Club in Newtown Square, Pa. While it has never hosted the BMW before, Aronimink hosted the Quicken Loans National in 2010 and 2011 in addition to the PGA Championship (1962) and U.S. Amateur (1977). In 2019 the event will return to Medinah Country Club in Medinah, Ill., which last hosted the event in 1966 when it was known as the Western Open.

"Each of these storied venues enjoys a rich history of hosting top-tier golf championships," said Vince Pellegrino, senior vice president of tournaments for the Western Golf Association.

While the tournament is annually the third leg of the FedEx Cup Playoffs, it is operated by the WGA. The event was formerly a Chicago-area staple, but in recent years the WGA has begun a pattern of contesting it in Chicago every other year, with visits to other major metropolitan venues during the alternating years. Last year Billy Horschel won at Cherry Hills Golf Club outside Denver, Colo.

The BMW Championship is open to the top 70 players in the FedEx Cup points race, with the top 30 players advancing to the season-ending Tour Championship.