Caddie, on first day, informs Howell of infraction


David Howell had an interesting first day with his new caddie.

Howell tweeted on Thursday that his caddie informed him of a rules violation while playing the 18th hole on the Old Course during Round 1 of the Alfred Dunhill Links Championship.

Well, couldn’t the caddie have informed him of a possible infraction before it became an actual infraction?

And Howell’s reaction?

With his double at the 18th, Howell shot even-par 72 in the first round. He shot 4-over 76 on Friday at Carnoustie.