Chun clinches Rolex Rookie of the Year Award


In Gee Chun has clinched the LPGA’s Louise Suggs Rolex Rookie of the Year Award.

With six events remaining in the LPGA season, nobody can catch Chun in the points-based race.

Chun is the fourth South Korean in the last six years to win the award. She has amassed a 778-point lead over American Megan Khang, which would rank as the third largest margin of victory in the history of the award, if the season ended today. Only Karrie Webb (1,030 points in 1996) and Se Ri Pak (929 points in 1998) ended the year with a larger margin of victory.

Chun won the Evian Championship last month, joining Se Ri Pak as the only players to win major championships as their first two LPGA titles. Chun won the U.S. Women’s Open last year an LPGA non-member.

“One of my goals at the start of the year was to try and win this award, so to actually achieve it is a tremendous honor,” Chun said in a statement. “Thank you to Louise Suggs, and all the LPGA Founding members. Without you all, we would not have the opportunities we have today. I am sorry I wasn’t able to meet Miss Suggs, however, I will do my best to uphold the honor bestowed upon me.”

South Korea’s Sei Young Kim (2015), So Yeon Ryu (2012) and Hee Kyung Seo (2011) have won the award over the last six seasons.