Golf Channel Mobile
Golf Channel
The Presidents Cup View Tee Times >
  • United States
  • 0
  • Internationals
  • 0
  • Scott:Matsuyama
  • 10:05 PM ET
  • Watson:Holmes
  • Oosthuizen:Grace
  • 10:18 PM ET
  • Kuchar:Reed
  • Lahiri:Jaidee
  • 10:31 PM ET
  • Fowler:Walker
  • Day:Bowditch
  • 10:44 PM ET
  • Mickelson:Johnson
  • Lee:Leishman
  • 10:57 PM ET
  • Spieth:Johnson
Prev Next

Donald assessed 2-stroke penalty in Round 1


AUGUSTA, Ga. - Luke Donald was assessed a two-stroke penalty midway through his round on Thursday at Augusta National for grounding his club in a hazard.

Donald played his third shot from a greenside bunker on No. 9 and left his attempt in the bunker. Before hitting his third shot he touched the ground in the bunker with his club, violating Rule 13-4.

The Englishman made a quadruple bogey-8 on the ninth and signed for a 79.

Scoring for the 78th Masters Tournament

Masters Tournament: Articles, videos and photos

"Pretty dumb mistake," Donald tweeted after his round. "I can accept the odd poor shot but making a mistake like that is pretty frustrating and so unlike me.

"Oh well, nothing I can do about it now, brush it off and try and make a bunch of birdies tomorrow."