Eight countries named for LPGA's International Crown


NAPLES, Fla. – The oddsmaker may not have set a line on the inaugural International Crown yet, but you can bet the South Koreans will be favored.

The LPGA on Thursday announced the top eight nations that will compete for the International Crown when it makes its debut July 24-27 at Caves Valley Golf Club in Owing Mills, Md.

The eight countries were determined by the Rolex world rankings based on the cumulative rankings of the top four players from each country.

South Korea temporarily holds the top seed with all four of their players among the top 10 in the world. The Americans are the only other nation with more than one player among the top 10. They have two.

While the eight countries are set, the rosters of each won’t be decided until the Monday before the Kraft Nabisco Championship begins next April. The top four players in the Rolex rankings from each qualifying country will make the team.

Here are the eight nations and what the rosters would look like if the International Crown was played today:

1 South Korea: Inbee Park, So Yeon Ryu, Na Yeon Choi and I.K. Kim.

2 United States: Stacy Lewis, Lexi Thompson, Paula Creamer and Cristie Kerr.

3 Japan: Ai Miyazato, Mika Miyazato, Sakura Yokomine and Miki Saiki.

4 Spain: Beatriz Recari, Azahara Munoz, Carlota Ciganda and Belen Mozo.

5 Sweden: Caroline Hedwall, Anna Nordqvist, Pernilla Lindberg and Mikeala Parmlid.

6 Thailand: Ariya Jutanugarn, Pornonong Phatlum, Moriya Jutanugarn and Onnarin Sattayabanphot.

7 Taiwan: Yani Tseng, Teresa Lu, Candie Kung and Hsuan-Yu Yao.

8 Australia: Karrie Webb, Katherine Hull-Kirk, Stacey Keating and Lindsey Wright.