Fraser replaces Leishman in projected Olympic field


Marcus Fraser moved into Olympic qualifying position this week without hitting a shot.

The Aussie has become the beneficiary of a pair of high-profile withdrawals, as countrymen Adam Scott and more recently Marc Leishman have both bowed out of Olympic consideration. As a result, Fraser is next in line to take Australia's second (and final) roster spot in Rio behind Jason Day, despite being ranked 66th in the world.

The Olympics will feature a 60-man field, with a maximum of two players representing each country (that max is raised to four if all are ranked inside the top 15 in the world). The world rankings from July 11, prior to the Open Championship, will be used to determine the final field.

Here's a look at the 60 players currently in line to book a trip to Brazil:

1. Jason Day (AUS)

2. Jordan Spieth (USA)

3. Rory McIlroy (IRL)

4. Bubba Watson (USA)

5. Rickie Fowler (USA)

6. Henrik Stenson (SWE)

7. Dustin Johnson (USA)

8. Danny Willett (GBR)

9. Justin Rose (GBR)

10. Branden Grace (RSA)

11. Hideki Matsuyama (JPN)

12. Sergio Garcia (ESP)

13. Byeong-Hun An (KOR)

14. Rafael Cabrera-Bello (ESP)

15. Shane Lowry (IRL)

16. Danny Lee (NZL)

17. Soren Kjeldsen (DEN)

18. Emiliano Grillo (ARG)

19. Kiradech Aphibarnrat (THA)

20. K.T. Kim (KOR)

21. Bernd Wiesberger (AUT)

22. David Lingmerth (SWE)

23. Thongchai Jaidee (THA)

24. Anirban Lahiri (IND)

25. Victor Dubuisson (FRA)

26. Martin Kaymer (GER)

27. Fabian Gomez (ARG)

28. Jaco van Zyl (RSA)

29. Joost Luiten (NED)

30. Thomas Pieters (BEL)

31. Marcus Fraser (AUS)

32. Thorbjorn Olesen (DEN)

33. Yuta Ikeda (JPN)

34. Francesco Molinari (ITA)

35. Ricardo Gouveia (POR)

36. Alexander Levy (FRA)

37. Miguel Tabuena (PHI)

38. Graham DeLaet (CAN)

39. Haotong Li (CHN)

40. David Hearn (CAN)

41. Alex Cejka (GER)

42. S.S.P. Chawrasia (IND)

43. Fabrizio Zanotti (PAR)

44. Ryan Fox (NZL)

45. W.C. Liang (CHN)

46. Mikko Ilonen (FIN)

47. Jhonattan Vegas (VEN)

48. Camilo Villegas (COL)

49. Brendon de Jonge (ZIM)

50. Danny Chia (MAS)

51. Angelo Que (PHI)

52. Nicolas Colsaerts (BEL)

53. Adilson da Silva (BRA)

54. Roope Kakko (FIN)

55. Felipe Aguilar (CHI)

56. Rodolfo Cazaubon (MEX)

57. C.T. Pan (TPE)

58. Wen-Tang Lin (TPE)

59. Carlos Ortiz (MEX)

60. Mardan Mamat (SIN)