Illinois' Danielson among Nelson Award finalists


Five players have been named as finalists for the Byron Nelson Award, given annually to a graduating senior who excels not only on the golf course, but also in the classroom and the community.  

Illinois’ Charlie Danielson and Alex Burge, Oklahoma State’s Jordan Niebrugge, Clemson’s Stephen Behr Jr. and Michigan’s Chris O’Neill are the finalists for the award. 

Last year’s recipient was former Georgia Tech star Anders Albertson. 

The winner will be announced in a few weeks.