Inaugural Annika Major Award on line at Evian


Two trophies will be awarded with Sunday’s conclusion of the Evian Championship.

There’s the Evian Championship trophy and the new Rolex Annika Major Award.

While 120 players will vie for the Evian title, just seven players will tee it up Thursday with a chance to win the inaugural Rolex Annika Major Award as the best player in the 2014 majors.

The new Rolex Annika award is named after Hall of Famer Annika Sorenstam. It is a points-based race with top-10 finishers in majors earning points. The winner of a major earns 60 points with second place getting 24, third earning 18 and on down to two points for a 10th-place finish. The winner must have won at least one of the year's five majors to win the award.

Lexi Thompson (Kraft Nabisco), Michelle Wie (U.S. Women’s Open), Mo Martin (Ricoh Women’s British Open) and Inbee Park (Wegmans LPGA Championship) claimed the year’s first four majors. Martin isn’t teeing it up this week because of a thumb injury.

Here are the standings entering the year’s final major:

1. Michelle Wie, 84.

2. Inbee Park, 74.

3. Lexi Thompson, 68.

4. Mo Martin, 60.

5. Stacy Lewis, 52.

6. Shanshan Feng, 44.

7. Suzann Pettersen, 34.

8. Brittany Lincicome, 24.