Lewis, Lee share lead at North Texas Shootout


The momentum garnered by the LPGA stars in April has carried over into May, as another star-studded leaderboard has been created in Dallas. Here's how things stand heading into the final round of the North Texas LPGA Shootout, where Stacy Lewis and Meena Lee share the lead:

Leaderboard: Stacy Lewis (-9), Meena Lee (-9), Suzann Pettersen (-8), Dori Carter (-8), Julieta Granada (-8), Cristie Kerr (-7), Natalie Gulbis (-7)

What it means: Lewis has had a number of high finishes this year, but still hasn't lifted a trophy in 2014. She appears eager to end that drought this week in the Lone Star State, as she has made just one bogey across the last 36 holes and shares the lead with Lee, who was under par for the third consecutive day.

Round of the day: Jennifer Johnson moved into the top 10 thanks to a 6-under 65. Johnson bogeyed the first hole but then reeled off seven birdies after that, including four on the back nine. After failing to break 70 in either of the first two rounds, she carded the low round Saturday to move into a tie for sixth, two shots off the pace.

Best of the rest: Making her first start as a major champion, Lexi Thompson finally got things going with a 4-under 67 in the third round. Thompson made it around Las Colinas without a bogey, carding four birdies and missing only a single green in regulation. She'll tee off Sunday at 5 under, four shots behind Lewis and Lee.

Biggest disappointment: Caroline Masson began the day with a share of the lead, but the German struggled to a 4-over 75. Masson had three birdies but her round unraveled after a triple-bogey 7 on the eighth hole. As a result, she'll begin the final round tied for 18th, five off the pace.

Main storyline heading into Sunday: LPGA commissioner Mike Whan continues to come up roses, as a number of high-profile players remain in contention. That list includes Lewis, a former world No. 1, and Pettersen, who was displaced at No. 2 last week by Lydia Ko. The notables still in the mix also include Gulbis, who is in search of her first win since 2007.