Lewis, Park, Jutanugarn secure remaining LPGA awards


NAPLES, Fla. – Stacy Lewis, Inbee Park and Moriya Jutanugarn came away with the 2013 LPGA awards that still hung in the balance going into Sunday’s final round of the CME Group Titleholders.

Stacy Lewis won the Vare Trophy for the LPGA’s low scoring average this season. She’s the first American to win the award since Beth Daniel in 1994. Lewis finished with a 69.484 scoring average. That’s the eighth lowest in LPGA history. Lewis shot 71 on Sunday at Tiburon, tying for sixth.

Inbee Park won the LPGA money title with $2,456,619 in earnings. It’s the second consecutive year Park has won the money title. She also won the Rolex Player of the Year award this year, clinching that last week at the Lorena Ochoa Invitational to become the first South Korean to win the honor.

Park shot 68 Sunday and finished fifth.

Moriya Jutanugarn won the Rolex Rookie of the Year award by the slimmest margin possible, edging Caroline Masson 480-479. Jutanugarn started the week 11 points behind Masson. She needed a finish of T-33 or better on Sunday to pass Masson and she finished T-33. Jutanugarn missed a 5-foot putt at the last hole and had to sweat out the finish to see where she ended up. Masson played the final two events with a fractured right thumb in a splint.

Jutanugarn shot 72 on Sunday.