Lowry 'hoping' DJ penalty would lead to playoff

RSS

OAKMONT, Pa. – Shane Lowry, really, let the USGA off the hook.

After three consecutive bogeys late in the final round of the U.S. Open it was clear that the Dustin Johnson rules issue was not going to come into play.

If Johnson ended the round within a shot of Lowry it was clear the Open would be decided by a Monday playoff when Johnson ultimately was slapped a one-shot penalty when officials deemed he caused a ball to move on the fifth green.

Johnson was cleared of all wrongdoing immediately but later in the round he was informed there might be an issue. Johnson was told they’d take a look following the round, meaning the remaining eight holes were played in limbo for all parties.


U.S. Open: Full-field scores | Live daily blog | Photo gallery


What if it was close near the end? Was Johnson’s total on the leaderboard correct? Or was it one stroke less? Should pursuers play more aggressively or conservatively?

There were so many questions.

“That, actually, didn’t affect me much at all,” Lowry said.

“I actually just lipped out for eagle. Made a great par save on the next, and really thought I was in the tournament. If anything, I was hoping he’d get the one-shot penalty. But that’s the way it is. Obviously, he didn’t need the extra shot in the end. Of course, it would have been interesting if we were tied at the same score.”