LPGA announces new Rolex Annika Major Award


RANCHO MIRAGE, Calif. – The LPGA announced Wednesday that the new Rolex Annika Major Award will be presented beginning this year to the best overall performer in the year’s five major championships.

The award is named after Annika Sorenstam, who won 10 majors.

While the award will be determined by points, the Rolex Annika Major Award winner must have won one of the majors in the year at hand. A player with five second-place finishes can’t win the award. The trophy will be presented after the conclusion of the season-ending Evian Championship.

“Our goal with everything we do is to elevate women’s golf and the LPGA,” tour commissioner Mike Whan said. “The major championships are the biggest stage we have, and we’re proud to partner with Rolex and Annika to create this award.”

The points system used to determine the winner is the same used to determine the Rolex Player of the Year Award. Top-10 finishes in majors will be rewarded. A victory will be worth 60 points, second place 24 points, third place 18 points and down to a 10th place finish worth two points. In case of a tie at year's end, the player with the most overall victories will win the award. If there's still a tie, the player with the most second-place finishes will win.