LPGA Championship's rich history moving to new event


PITTSFORD, N.Y. – Hall of Famer Karrie Webb likes the possibilities with the LPGA Championship morphing into the new KPMG Women’s PGA Championship next year, including the fact that the LPGA Championship’s history and records will carry over.

Webb’s only reservation with the new arrangement was fear that the LPGA Championship’s rich history would be lost. As a member of the LPGA Board of Directors, she expressed those concerns.

Wegmans LPGA Championship: Articles, videos and photos

“My understanding is the LPGA Championship history is being carried over and all the past champions are still part of that history,” Webb said.

This week will mark the 60th playing of the LPGA Championship. It’s the second longest running tournament in LPGA history, trailing only the U.S. Women’s Open, which got its start in 1946.

Beverly Hanson won the first LPGA Championship in 1955 at Orchard Ridge Country Club in Fort Wayne, Ind. Mickey Wright won the championship a record four times. Kathy Whitworth, Nancy Lopez, Patty Sheehan, Annika Sorenstam and Se Ri Pak each won it three times.