LPGA Q-Schooler DQ'd when marker fails to sign card

RSS

Thanks to one of the crueler twists of the Rules of Golf, Holly Clyburn's run at the second stage of LPGA Tour Q-School has come to an abrupt end.

Clyburn, a second-year professional on the Ladies' European Tour, shot a 71 in the first round at Plantation Golf & Country Club in Venice, Fla. - or so she thought. According to a Golfweek report, Clyburn filled out and signed her scorecard correctly, but was disqualified because her playing competitor, amateur Justine Lee, failed to sign the scorecard as her marker.

According to the report, both Clyburn and Lee sat and went over their cards at the scorer's table, which at LPGA Q-School is manned by volunteers. Lee, who shot an opening 78, got into a discussion with a volunteer over her own score, and the two players exited the scoring area without Lee ever signing to attest to Clyburn's first-round total.

The USGA's Rules of Golf address issues of signing (or not signing) scorecards in Rule 6-6b: "After completion of the round, the competitor should check his score for each hole and settle any doubtful points with the committee. He must ensure that themarker or markers have signed the scorecard, sign the scorecard himself and return it to the committee as soon as possible."

With 192 women in the field, Clyburn's 71 would have left her in a tie for 11th after one round of the 72-hole event, with the top 80 finishers plus ties advancing to the final stage of Q-School.