Lyle, Furyk, Giffin to be honored by GWAA


The Golf Writers Association of America will honor Jim Furyk, Jarrod Lyle and Doc Giffin for their contributions to golf during the Annual Awards Dinner in April.

Furyk will receive the ASAP Sports/Jim Murray Award for being consistently cooperative and accommodating to the media.

“I’ve never looked at it as tough or difficult,” Furyk said. “I’ve always thought that we both have jobs to do. I feel like I have a responsibility to help portray (to readers) what they are seeing and in order to do that, I can tell the media what I’m thinking.”

Lyle is the recipient of the Ben Hogan Award, given each year to an individual who has continued to be active in golf despite a physical handicap or serious illness. The Australian battled leukemia as a teenager, made it to the PGA Tour, then was sidelined for more than two years when the cancer returned. He has been cleared and will play a full schedule on the PGA Tour this year. 

“To be awarded the Ben Hogan Award is a huge honor,” he said. “To be placed among some of the game’s greatest is something I will cherish forever.” 

The 86-year-old Giffin, who has been Arnold Palmer’s right-hand man for nearly a half century, won the William D. Richardson Award for his contributions to the game. Past recipients of the award include Jack Nicklaus, Ben Hogan and Nancy Lopez. 

“All those previous winners, I’ve known nearly every one of them,” Giffin said. “So it’s rewarding in every way.”

The awards ceremony will be held April 8 in Augusta, Ga.