Men's regionals: Which teams are in, out for NCAAs


The NCAA Division I men’s regionals wrapped up Wednesday at six sites around the country. The low five teams in each regional after 54 holes advanced to the May 27-June 1 NCAA Championship at Eugene (Ore.) Country Club.

Here are the final results from the Franklin (Tenn.), Tuscaloosa (Ala.), Kohler (Wis.), Stillwater (Okla.), Albuquerque (N.M.) and Tucson (Ariz.) regionals:

Franklin Regional, at Vanderbilt Legends Club in Franklin, Tenn.:

Winner: Texas (-45)

Runner-up: Vanderbilt (-34)

Rest of the top 5: Houston (-25), LSU (-25), Virginia (-22)

Better luck next year: Washington (-21), Kennesaw State (-17), East Carolina (-15), Pepperdine (-1)

Medalist: Michael Perras, Houston (-16)

Individual advancing: Ryan Cole, James Madison

Skinny: There were plenty of low scores at this site, but none were better than the No. 1-ranked Longhorns, who led from start to finish over the three days. Doug Ghim was second individually, while Gavin Hall, Taylor Funk and Beau Hossler also finished inside the top 10. Host Vanderbilt saved its best round of the week for the finale, a 20-under 268 that ended any suspense on the bubble. Defending NCAA champion LSU took the fourth spot, while Virginia’s Jimmy Stanger birdied the final hole to push the Cavaliers into the finals and knock out Washington. 

Tuscaloosa Regional, at Ol’ Colony Golf Course in Tuscaloosa, Ala.:

Winner: Georgia (-16)

Runner-up: South Carolina (-12)

Rest of the top 5: Alabama (-7), Kentucky (-6), Auburn (+3)

Better luck next year: UNLV (+11), College of Charleston (+23), Colorado (+26), Kansas (+50)

Medalist: Greyson Sigg, Georgia (-9)

Individual advancing: William Rainey, College of Charleston

Skinny: It turned out like the SEC Championship, with all five SEC schools advancing out of this regional. Georgia, a semifinalist a year ago, cruised to the team title by four shots over South Carolina. Playing on its home course, Alabama had a stress-free third-place finish, behind the play of Davis Riley (T-4) and Robby Shelton (T-10). Four of the top five seeds moved on, the lone exception being UNLV, which finished eight shots out of the final spot. Kentucky, the No. 6 seed, finished fourth.  

Kohler Regional, at Blackwolf Run’s Meadow Valley in Kohler, Wis.:

Winner: Illinois (-11)

Runners-up: Florida and Arkansas (-7)

Rest of the top 5: Florida State (-6), Baylor (-6)

Better luck next year: Idaho (E), Memphis (+5), East Tennessee State (+5), Penn State (+10)

Medalist: Tee-k Kelly, Ohio State (-7)

Individual advancing: Kelly

Skinny: Chalk prevailed in this regional, though it wasn’t without a few surprises along the way. After a slow start, Illini kicked into gear in the final round to leapfrog Florida and earn its eighth team title of the season. After spending the first two rounds in the coveted top five, Idaho was passed on the last day by red-hot Baylor, which shot a final-round-best 14-under 274 to steal the fifth and final qualifying spot. Matthew Perrine (T-10) birdied four of his last five holes, while Braden Bailey (T-5) came home in 33 for the Bears. UCLA’s NCAA-best streak of 14 consecutive finals appearances came to an end with its 10th-place finish.

Stillwater Regional, at Karsten Creek in Stillwater, Okla.:

Winner: Oklahoma State (+7)

Runner-up: Oklahoma (+26)

Rest of the top 5: Clemson (+37), Louisville (+43), Purdue (+46)

Better luck next year: Augusta (+48), Northwestern (+58), Duke (+59), Michigan State (+60)

Medalist: Kristoffer Ventura, Oklahoma State (E)

Individual advancing: Antoine Rozner, Missouri-Kansas City

Skinny: As expected, the two Oklahoma schools (including the host Cowboys) sailed into the NCAA finals without any drama, as well as ACC champion Clemson. Louisville, the No. 10 seed, grabbed the fourth spot after placing three players inside the top 20 individually, while Purdue, on the strength of Luis Fernando Barco’s T-10, edged out Augusta for the fifth spot.

Tucson Regional, at The Gallery at Dove Mountain in Tucson, Ariz.:

Winner: Stanford (-31)

Runner-up: Oregon (-17)

Rest of the top 5: UAB (-7), California (-2), Wake Forest (-1)

Better luck next year: UC Riverside (+2), North Florida (+3), Georgia Tech (+3), North Carolina (+51)

Medalist: Franklin Huang, Stanford (-12)

Individual advancing: Matt Lutz, UC Riverside

Skinny: There isn’t a hotter team in the country than Stanford. At regionals, the Cardinal picked up another big victory, their third in a row, behind Huang and McNealy, who finished 1-2 individually. In the final round, Oregon played like a team that wanted to get back home for NCAAs, shooting a best-of-the-day 274 to finish second. Sophomore Aaron Wise will be one of the favorites for the individual title on his home course, where he also won the Pacific Coast Amateur last summer. California counted four rounds of par or better Wednesday to send retiring coach Steve Desimone to one last finals, while UAB, the No. 7 seed, used a hot first round to stay inside the top-5 bubble.

Albuquerque Regional, at the University of New Mexico’s Championship Course in Albuquerque, N.M.:

Winner: Arizona State (+12)

Runner-up: TCU (+24)

Rest of the top 5: Southern Cal (+31), South Florida (+35), San Diego State/Texas A&M (+40)

Better luck next year: Texas Tech (+43), New Mexico (+43), N.C. State (+65)

Medalist: Jon Rahm, Arizona State (-4)

Skinny: Arizona State, which hadn’t claimed a team title all season, picked a great time to nab its first. Behind Rahm, their senior leader, the Sun Devils led wire to wire to breeze into the NCAA finals. It’s an important victory for Rahm, who now has four titles this season, including victories at the conference championship and regionals – which neither of the other Haskins Award contenders, Stanford’s Maverick McNealy and Texas’ Hossler, can put on their resumes. Despite a rocky week, USC, last year’s finalists, moved on to Eugene, as did South Florida, which traveled all the way west for its regional tournament. There was a playoff for the fifth and final spot between San Diego State and Texas A&M. In the team playoff, San Diego State’s Gunn Yang, the 2014 U.S. Amateur champion who has virtually disappeared, made an albatross on the first hole to push the Aztecs into the national championship. (San Diego State, which made three birdies on the final hole in regulation just to catch Texas A&M, was 5 under on that hole in the playoff.) New Mexico was the only host team that did not advance to the NCAA finals; the Lobos finished seventh, three shots off the cut line. TCU, which was ranked 52nd in the country and had just finished eighth at Big 12s, placed second at regionals, Paul Barjon and Ryan Books tied for third individually.