Mickelson, McIlroy on opposite ends of Wells Fargo draw


CHARLOTTE, N.C. - Phil Mickelson is grouped with Justin Rose and Lee Westwood over the first two rounds of the Wells Fargo Championship this week.

The trio will go off the first tee at 1:25 p.m. ET Thursday and off the 10th tee at 8 a.m. Friday.

Mickelson is the highest ranked player in the field at No. 9 in the Official World Golf Ranking. Rose is the second highest at No. 10.

Mickelson is making his first appearance since missing the cut at the Masters. He’s seeking his first PGA Tour title this season in his 11th start.

Rory McIlroy and Rickie Fowler, both past champions of this event, will go off together with Jonas Blixt in the first two rounds. They’re off the 10th tee at 8 a.m. Thursday and off the first tee at 1:25 p.m. Friday. McIlroy won the Wells Fargo Championship in 2010 with a final-round 62. Fowler defeated McIlroy and D.A. Points in a playoff when he won here in 2012.

The field features just two of the top 10 players in the world rankings and four of the top 20.