PGA Tour cards up for grabs at finale


Promotions will be finalized this week on the Tour, as 25 players will earn PGA Tour cards for the 2014-15 season following the WinCo Foods Portland Open.

The top 25 names on the season-long money list after this week's event in Oregon will officially graduate to the main circuit next season. While players near the top of the standings have already cemented cards, there is still plenty of work to be done for those near the bubble. 

With $145,373 in earnings, Sebastian Cappelen will tee it up this week as the player many in the field are hunting. At No. 25 on the money list, Cappelen leads former PGA Tour veteran Greg Owen by only $5,630 for the final guaranteed card with one event remaining.

Carlos Ortiz can safely book his ticket to the PGA Tour, as he comfortably leads the money list with $371,403 in earnings after a season that has included two wins. Other notable players who will make the jump next year include Justin Thomas (No. 4), who won a national title with Alabama in 2013, Blayne Barber (No. 7), who disqualified himself from Q-School in 2012, Max Homa (No. 16), who won the NCAA individual title in 2013, and former PGA Tour winner Jason Gore (No. 17).

A secondary bubble watch will focus on the 75th spot on money list, as Nos. 1-75 will qualify for the Tour Finals that begin next week. With $64,392, Roberto Diaz is currently $425 ahead of Andres Echevarria at No. 75.

Players ranked Nos. 1-25 on the money list will be guaranteed PGA Tour cards for next season but will still play in the Finals to determine their priority ranking. Nos. 26-75 will join the players who finished Nos. 126-200 on the FedEx Cup points list to play for the remaining 25 cards for 2014-15, which will go to the highest earners from the four-event series.

This week marks the inaugural edition of the WincoFoods Portland Open. It will be played at Pumpkin Ridge, which hosted the U.S. Women's Open in 1997 and 2003 along with the 1996 U.S. Amateur, when Tiger Woods completed his three-peat by defeating Steve Scott in extra holes.

The winner of the event will receive $144,000, while 10th place will receive $21,600 and 25th place $7,040.